< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Western Australia thump Tasmania by 5 wickets in JLT Cup

D'Arcy Short 63 today for Western Australia

Western Australia won the toss and decided to bowl against Tasmania at the Hurstville Oval, Sydney in the JLT Cup today.

Tasmania 290 - 8 (Ben McDermott 76, George Bailey 79; Usman Qadir 2-40)

Western Australia 292 -  5 (Josh Philippe 50, D'Arcy Short 63, Marcus Stoinis 93*; Jackson Bird 2-58)

Result - Western Australia won by 5 wickets

Batting first, Tasmania hit a par 290-8, mainly down to the batting of Ben McDermott 76 and skipper George Bailey 79. Usman Qadir 2-40 was the pick of the Western Australia bowlers.

In reply, Western Australia chased down the runs with almost 10 overs to spare and 5 wickets in hand. Josh Philippe 50, D'Arcy Short 63 and Marcus Stoinis 93* all batted superbly. Jackson Bird 2-58 was the pick of the Tasmania bowlers.

Tasmania - Matthew Wade(wk), Ben McDermott, Beau Webster, Jordan Silk, George Bailey(c), Simon Milenko, Tom Rogers, Clive Rose, Gurinder Sandhu, Jackson Bird, Riley Meredith

Western Australia - Josh Inglis(wk), Josh Philippe, D'Arcy Short, Ashton Turner(c), Marcus Stoinis, Hilton Cartwright, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Andrew Tye, Usman Qadir

©Cricket World 2018