< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Western Australia win first ever Women’s National Cricket League title

Western Australia have created history today by claiming their first ever Women’s National Cricket League title, defeating the dominant New South Wales Breakers by 42-runs at North Sydney Oval.

mpu-2]Match Summary

Western Australia 231

New South Wales 189


After the visitors posted 231 the defending champs were dismissed for 189 with one ball to spare from their 50 overs, relinquishing the Ruth Preddey Cup to the women from the West.

It was the third time in the 24-year history of the WNCL that WA had made the final, with the most recent occasion against the Breakers two seasons ago.

WA vice-captain Nicole Bolton was rightly named Player of the Match for her 67 from 107 balls, the only half-century of the match, and finishing with figures of 3-34 with the ball.

As the leading run-scorer and third-highest wicket-taker in the League, Bolton was also named WNCL Player of the Season.

The West Aussie stalwart finished this season with 436 runs at an average of 48.44 and was the first WA player ever to pass 400 runs in a summer. She also took 16 wickets.

Retiring NSW fast bowler Rene Farrell finished the season as the leading wicket-taker with 21 for the summer after today’s match-best figures of 4-33 from 10 overs.

WA spinner Emma King was second behind Farrell with 18 wickets after claiming 3-28 from her 10 overs during the final.

It was King who halted the Breakers’ momentum after a solid start from teenagers Rachel Trenaman (37) and wicketkeeper-batter Maddy Darke (36), who shared a 64-run opening stand.

Western Australian medium-pacer Heather Graham also picked up 3-40.

©Cricket World 2020

Official Cricket Australia Website