Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Western Province Name Squad for CSA Provincial T20 Cup

Western Province Name Squad for CSA Provincial T20 Cup
Western Province Name Squad for CSA Provincial T20 Cup

The Western Province Men’s Senior Provincial management have announced the squad that will take to the field in the upcoming Cricket South Africa (CSA) Provincial T20 Cup in Potchefstroom starting this coming weekend.

The Provincial T20 cup – formerly known as the Africa T20 Cup – has become a curtain-raiser to the cricket calendar since its inception in 2015 and continues to enhance the level of competition amongst the respective semi-provincial teams around the country.

The management have ensured that they have selected a strong side that will contend for the title. 

The team will be led by Captain Andre Malan, who recently won the ‘Club Championship Player of The Year’ at the CSA Breakfast Awards held in August.

Furthermore, the fourteen-man squad will comprise of four franchise players from the World Sports Betting Cape Cobras, namely Jason Smith, David Bedingham, Kyle Verreynne and Dane Paterson, who will bring much-required experience and balance to the squad.

In addition, WP Senior Provincial Coach Paul Adams has opted to include youngsters Sisonke Mazele, Mihlali Mpongwana and Thando Ntini as well as SA U19 Player Siyabulela Plaatjie, who are exciting prospects and will be aiming to light up the tournament with their talents.

“The inclusion of these youngsters is quite significant, as it is part of the bigger picture in trying to develop them and make sure they get the opportunity to play at a different level,” Adams elaborated.

“Having the franchise and senior players in our team is a big plus for us. They will set the tone and groom the youngsters we have at our disposal.”

“The likes of Mpongwana, Luke Philander and Ntini - who has performed well for the SA Emerging side during the winter - will have to build and prepare to the coming 2019/20 season,” he concluded.

The team will leave for Gauteng, on Monday and will be involved in two T20 friendly encounters, against the Gauteng Strikers and Wits, ahead of the first Provincial T20 Cup game.

This preparation will be key as WP is set to face a strong challenge on Friday in Border and North West and conclude their round of fixtures against Limpopo and Mpumalanga on Saturday. 

WP, who are yet to win the tournament, are optimistic about their chances this year. The team looks to take top honours and bounce back to the summit of provincial cricket.

“We are excited with the group and blend of players, especially for our debutants. We trust that the team will gel well and make use of the experience of the senior players,” said Clinton Du Preez, WPCA Cricket Services Manager.

The tournament will consist of just 15 provincial teams now, split into 3 groups of 5, with no African countries represented as in previous years.

“It involves the normal 13 teams that are participants in the CSA 3-Day Provincial Cup and CSA Provincial One Day Challenge. Now we have added Limpopo and Mpumalanga to make it 15 teams,” explained CSA head of communications, Koketso Gaofetoge.

Last year’s tournament saw Gauteng beat Border to be crowned champions.

Western Province Squad: Qaasim Adams, David Bedingham, Junaid Dawood, Isaac Dikgale, Justin Dill, Andre Malan (c), Sisonke Mazele, Mihlali Mpongwana, Thando Ntini, Dane Paterson, Luke Philander, Siyabubela Plaatjie, Jason Smith and Kyle Verreynne

© Cricket World 2019