Which American or Canadian college will win the Shiv Chanderpaul Trophy in 2018 ?

Drexel Dragons batting vs George Washington Colonials
Drexel Dragons batting vs George Washington Colonials
©American College Cricket

The 2018 American College Cricket National Championship will be played March 14 to March 18, 2018. College teams from around USA & Canada will compete at the Central Broward Regional Park & Stadium and nearby fields in 5 days, 50 games of intense cricket action & fun to be National Champion and win the Shiv Chanderpaul Trophy.

The legendary Shivnarine Chanderpaul has been a Patron of American College Cricket from Dec 2008 when he became the first major, active Test cricketer to assist the development of the game in America. Shiv said,”It’s a pleasure to help the growth of the game – in 2017 I had a great time attending the National Championship, meeting students, presenting the Awards & doing commentary.The cricket was extremely competitive as always.”

The National Championship has been played every year since March 2009. That first Championship was featured in the New York Times, was the most popular Times’ story of that week, and motivated regular International cricket coverage by the NY times since then. In 2010 American College Cricket did the first web stream in the USA & Canada of domestic cricket, then did the first TV from 2011 with TV Asia. The 2014 National Championship became the first cricket in the USA broadcast by sports giant, ESPN. The 2017 Nationals Semis & Finals were televised by SONY Pictures.

This year, each day matches will be streamed Live on the American College Cricket Facebook page.

Previous Champions are: 2009 Montgomery College, 2010 York University (Toronto), 2011 - George Mason University, 2012- York College (NYC), 2013 - UMBC, 2014 - U of South Florida (USF), 2015 - U of Texas Dallas, 2016 - U of South Florida & 2017 - Ryerson University (Toronto). Ryerson will represent Canada in the College World Cup which will be held in Florida March 11,12 & 13. 2018.

American College Cricket probably set a record in 2010 for the largest cricket tournament ever, with 47 matches in 4 days and then in 2011 broke that record with 67 matches between 32 teams in 5 days. Since then the Championship has been brought down to 50 matches in 5 days.  Chief Umpire & Officiating Adviser since 2014 has been England & Wales County Board (ECB) Test Panel Umpire Billy Taylor.

As in all American College Cricket events, matches will be 20/20, finish in 3 hours and played with white balls and colored uniforms. The best players will be selected to represent the USA in the annual Series USA vs Canada, to be played twice a year.

Participants in the American College Cricket National Championship since 2009, have usually described it as “the best Spring Break” they’ve ever had, and the camaraderie, memories, photos & videos will remain with them for the rest of their lives.