< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Who would have predicted that: Liton Das 176 smokes highest ODI score for Bangladesh in Mashrafe Mortaza's last match as captain

Bangladesh's Liton Das

In our feature series - Who would have predicted that? – we are looking back at matches where there were big upsets or extraordinary individual performances that turned matches on their head.

In the 2nd ODI on the Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh in March this year, Tamim Iqbal had broken the record for the highest individual ODI score for Bangladesh with 158. In the very next match, Liton Das bettered it with 176.

Match Summary

Bangladesh 322/3 (43 overs) - Liton Das 176 (143), Tamim Iqbal* 128 (109); Carl Mumba 3/69 (8), Sean Williams 0/46 (9)

Zimbabwe 218(37.3 overs) - Sikandar Raza 61 (50), Wesley Madhevere 42 (42), Mohammad Saifuddin 4/41 (6.3), Taijul Islam 2/38 (9)

Result - Bangladesh won by 123 runs (D/L method)

With rain around, the third and the final match of the ODI series between Zimbabwe and Bangladesh was curtailed to 43 overs per side. This gave Bangladesh's opening pair of Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das additional freedom to go after the bowlers.

The opening partnership had already been firing in the tournament and the openers ended with more than 300 runs each from just three matches at an average of 155. In the last match, the two blasted 292 for the opening stand from just 40.5 overs.

While Iqbal remained unbeaten on 128, Liton Das was finally dismissed on 176 off 143 deliveries. The knock included 16 fours and 8 sixes and came at a strike rate of 123.08. With six overs still to go, the opener could have even scored a double century had he not been dismissed.

 Fall of wickets: 1-292 (Liton Das, 40.5 ov), 2-312 (Mahmudullah, 42.1 ov), 3-322 (Afif Hossain, 42.6 ov)

It was not a surprise that Zimbabwe could manage only 218 runs under the pressure of the scoreboard and were bowled out in 37.3 overs. All-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin, who was making a comeback after injury, picked a 4-fer.

The entire Bangladesh team paid tribute to the outgoing captain Mortaza, who was playing his last international match as skipper. All the players changed into jerseys with Mashrafe Mortaza's name and number 2 on the back. On the front, it said 'Thank You Captain'.

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, 0.4 ov), 2-28 (Brendan Taylor, 3.4 ov), 3-74 (Sean Williams, 13.2 ov), 4-113 (Regis Chakabva, 21.1 ov), 5-150 (Wesley Madhevere, 26.4 ov), 6-164 (Richmond Mutumbami, 27.5 ov), 7-173 (Tinotenda Mutombodzi, 29.3 ov), 8-202 (Donald Tiripano, 34.2 ov), 9-218 (Sikandar Raza, 37.2 ov), 10-218 (Charlton Tshuma, 37.3 ov)



Bangladesh - Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das (wk), Mohammad Naim, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman 

Zimbabwe - Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Regis Chakabva, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams (c), Wesley Madhevere, Sikandar Raza, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Donald Tiripano, Charlton Tshuma, Carl Mumba


Match Details


Match: BAN v ZIM, 3rd ODI, Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2020 

Date: Friday, March 06, 2020 

Toss: Zimbabwe won the toss and decided to bowl 

Venue: Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet 

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Sharfuddoula 

Third Umpire: Paul Reiffel 

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe 


© Cricket World 2020