< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Who would have predicted that: Mr Cricket shows his attacking side & shocks Pakistan in 2010 T20 World Cup Semi-Final

Australia's David Warner in action against Pakistan

In our new feature series - Who would have predicted that? – we are looking back at matches where there were big upsets or extraordinary individual performances that turned matches on their head.


Pakistan were out to defend their title in the T20 World Cup in 2010. They had drubbed Sri Lanka by 8 wickets last year to lift their maiden T20 World title and had managed to sneak through to the semi-finals as they beat South Africa in their last Super-Eight game. This was their chance to make it two in two. But, the defending champions had to contend with the brilliance of Michael Hussey in the semis.


In the high pressure knockout game, Australia were down and almost out. Chasing 192, they were 105-5 in 12.3 overs. In walked Michael Hussey and played what many call the best T20I innings ever.


Match Summary


Pakistan 191/6(20 Overs) - Kamran Akmal50 (34), Umar Akmal*56 (35); David Hussey1/24 (3), Steven Smith1/23 (2)


Australia 197/7(19.5 Overs) - Michael Hussey*60 (24), Cameron White43 (31); Abdur Rehman2/33 (4), Mohammad Amir3/35 (4)


Result - Australia won by 3 wickets (with 1 ball remaining)


Kamran Amkal started things off things for Pakistan with an innings of 50 off 34 balls. His brother Umar then batted through the innings, scoring 56 off 35 balls with 4 sixes. Pakistan had amassed 191 and the score was going to test the Aussies. Back in 2007, they had failed to chase down a target in that range against India in the semi-final.


All Australian bowlers proved to be expensive without much success, with the exceptional exception of Shaun Tait.


Fall of wickets: 1-82 (Kamran Akmal, 9.4 ov), 2-89 (Salman Butt, 11.1 ov), 3-114 (Shahid Afridi, 14.2 ov), 4-145 (Khalid Latif, 16.6 ov), 5-189 (Abdul Razzaq, 19.4 ov), 6-191 (Misbah-ul-Haq, 19.6 ov)


Australia were hit early in the chase when David Warner was dismissed off the second ball as he cut one straight to Umar Akmal at point. From that point onwards, Australia kept getting a few big hits, but regular wickets kept denting them. The likes of Cameron White and David Hussey batted ahead of Mr Cricket. Ultimately, Hussey walked in at No. 7, when Australia were 105 for five in the 13th over. 


White was with him in the centre and Australia pinned their hopes on them. Hussey was expected to work it around and hand the baton to White, who had smashed four sixes before Hussey’s arrival. Australia required 48 off 17 balls when White fell. With 18 to get off the last over and Mitchell Johnson for company, it was getting out of hand for Hussey and Australia.


Shahid Afridi opted to go for the spin of Ajmal, despite Abdul Razzaq having two overs in his quota. With one run to get off the last two, Hussey swatted the last one over long-on for six as Australia qualified to the final. Mr Cricket's innings of 60 off 24 balls remains one of the greatest knocks of World T20.


Fall of wickets: 1-1 (David Warner, 0.2 ov), 2-26 (Shane Watson, 2.3 ov), 3-58 (Brad Haddin, 7.2 ov), 4-62 (Michael Clarke, 8.2 ov), 5-105 (David Hussey, 12.3 ov), 6-139 (Cameron White, 16.3 ov), 7-144 (Steven Smith, 17.1 ov)


Australia lost the final to arch-rivals England by seven wickets in the final at Barbados.




Australia - David Warner, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (wk), Michael Clarke (c), David Hussey, Cameron White, Michael Hussey, Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait, Dirk Nannes


Pakistan - Kamran Akmal (wk), Salman Butt, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi (c), Khalid Latif, Abdul Razzaq, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Abdur Rehman, Mohammad Amir, Saeed Ajmal


Match Details


Match: Australia v Pakistan, 2nd Semi-Final, ICC World T20, 2010 

Date: Friday, May 14, 2010 

Toss: Australia won the toss and opt to bowl 

Venue: Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia 

Umpires: Billy Doctrove, Ian Gould 

Third Umpire: Billy Bowden 

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle


© Cricket World 2020