< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Who would have predicted that: Mustafizur 6-fer helps Bangladesh register first-ever series win against India

Bangladesh's Mustafizur Rahman

In our new feature series - Who would have predicted that? – we are looking back at matches where there were big upsets or extraordinary individual performances that turned matches on their head.


Unlike their last tour, India had fielded a full-strength squad for their tour of Bangladesh in 2015. After having lost the first match, the visitors had to win the second game in order to keep the series alive. But, Mustafizur Rahman, who claimed a 5-wicket haul on debut in his last match, went one better, picking up a 6-fer.


Match Summary


India 200 (45 overs) - Shikhar Dhawan 53 (60), MS Dhoni 47 (75); Mustafizur Rahman 6/43 (10), Rubel Hossain 2/26 (7)


Bangladesh 200/4 (38 overs) - Shakib Al Hasan 51* (62), Liton Das 36 (41); Ravichandran Ashwin 1/32 (10), Dhawal Kulkarni 1/42 (7)


Result - Bangladesh won by 6 wickets (D/L method)



India did not get off to a good start with opener Rohit Sharma getting dismissed to Mustafizur Rahman on the very second ball of the match. Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni then tried to stabilize things. They batted a bit slowly in order to steady the ship but India lost their way in the process.


Mustafizur then came back for his next spell to dismiss Dhoni. Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja added a few runs towards the end but India were bowled out for just 200 within 45 overs.


Mustafizur Rahman had glittering figures of 10-43-6 at the end of the Indian innings while Nasir Hossain and Rubel Hosain also picked up two wickets each.


Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Rohit Sharma, 0.2 ov), 2-74 (Virat Kohli, 12.3 ov), 3-109 (Shikhar Dhawan, 20.5 ov), 4-110 (Ambati Rayudu, 21.4 ov), 5-163 (Suresh Raina, 35.3 ov), 6-174 (MS Dhoni, 39.3 ov), 7-174 (Axar Patel, 39.4 ov), 8-184 (Ravichandran Ashwin, 41.6 ov), 9-196 (Ravindra Jadeja, 43.6 ov), 10-200 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 44.6 ov)


The chase did not prove a tall order for Bangladesh. Although none of their batsmen ran away with the match, all off them contributed. Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das and Mushfiqur Rahim scored 30s through the middle order and ensured that there were no serious hiccups in the chase.


Shakib Al Hasan then struck an unbeaten half-century to take the team home by 6 wickets with 12 overs to spare.


The victory helped Bangladesh officially qualify for the 2017 Champions Trophy. This was also their 10th successive ODI victory at home.


Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Tamim Iqbal, 6.2 ov), 2-86 (Soumya Sarkar, 16.4 ov), 3-98 (Liton Das, 19.2 ov), 4-152 (Mushfiqur Rahim, 29.1 ov)




Bangladesh - Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das (wk), Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman 


India - Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dhawal Kulkarni


Match Details


Match: BAN vs IND, 2nd ODI, India tour of Bangladesh, 2015 

Date: Sunday, June 21, 2015 

Toss: India won the toss and decided to bat 

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka 

Umpires: Sharfuddoula, Rod Tucker 

Third Umpire: Anisur Rahman 

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft 


© Cricket World 2020