< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Who would have predicted that: Shane Watson slams highest T20I score in Australia with 124* against India

Australia's Shane Watson

In our feature series - Who would have predicted that? – we are looking back at matches where there were big upsets or extraordinary individual performances that turned matches on their head.

Shane Watson's unbeaten 124 was the first time a century was scored against India in a T20I. The all-rounder faced 71 balls in his innings which was the most (second-highest now) by any batsman in the format at that time.


Match Summary

Australia 197/5 (20 overs) - Shane Watson 124* (71), Travis Head 26 (19); Ashish Nehra 1/32 (4), Yuvraj Singh 1/19 (2)

INDIA 200/3(20 overs) - Rohit Sharma 52 (38), Virat Kohli 50 (36); Cameron Boyce 2/28 (4), Shane Watson 1/30 (4)

Result - India won by 7 wickets


India's tour of Australia in 2016 was not going down the anticipated route. The visitors had lost four of their five ODIs and were now up against Australia in a three-match T20I series. 

 The tide turned and India managed to win the first two games, taking an unassailable lead in the series. The objective now was to inflict a whitewash in the third and the final T20 at Sydney.

 However, Australia put their best foot forward, batting first, with Shane Watson leading the charge. Watson struck 124* off 71 deliveries, including 10 fours and 6 sixes at a strike rate of almost 175. He was unbeaten on 124 which remains the highest score in T20Is on Australian soil. The all-rounder scored 62.94% of Australia's runs - the fourth-highest percentage contribution in completed T20I innings.

 Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Usman Khawaja, 2.2 ov), 2-69 (Shaun Marsh, 7.4 ov), 3-75 (Glenn Maxwell, 9.1 ov), 4-168 (Travis Head, 16.6 ov), 5-193 (Chris Lynn, 19.4 ov)


The second half didn't go as planned for Australia. Each of Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina chipped in for India as they were successful in chasing down the total.

 In fact, it was a dramatic last over with 17 runs required to win. Yuvraj Singh, who had been struggling to middle the ball, hit a four and a six off the first two deliveries of Andrew Tye's last over. Suresh Raina then smashed a boundary on the last ball to take India to victory.


Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Shikhar Dhawan, 3.2 ov), 2-124 (Rohit Sharma, 12.3 ov), 3-147 (Virat Kohli, 14.5 ov)


 Australia - Shaun Marsh, Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson (c), Cameron Bancroft (wk), Travis Head, Cameron Boyce, Andrew Tye, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait 

 India - Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra


Match Details

Match: AUS v IND, 3rd T20I, India tour of Australia, 2016 

Date: Sunday, January 31, 2016 

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to bat 

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney 

Umpires: Simon Fry, John Ward 

Third Umpire: Paul Wilson 

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe 


© Cricket World 2020