< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Who would have predicted that: Yuzvendra Chahal 6/42 helps India clinch decider at MCG

India's Yuzvendra Chahal
India's Yuzvendra Chahal

In our feature series - Who would have predicted that? – we are looking back at matches where there were big upsets or extraordinary individual performances that turned matches on their head.


Yuzvendra Chahal wasn't given a go on India's tour of Australia in 2018-19. Krunal Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav were the preferred spinners in the 3 T20Is that preceded the Test series. With Kuldeep going for 66 runs in the second ODI without making any impact, India decided to give Yuzvendra Chahal the nod for the third and the last ODI on the tour.


Match Summary


Australia 230 (48.4 overs) - Peter Handscomb 58 (63), Shaun Marsh 39 (54); Yuzvendra Chahal 6/42 (10), Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/28 (8)

India 234/3 (49.2 overs) - MS Dhoni* 87 (114), Kedar Jadhav* 61 (57); Jhye Richardson 1/27 (10), Peter Siddle 1/56 (9)

Result - India won by 7 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)


After Australia were reduced to 27/2, Shaun Marsh and Usman Khawaja had a 50+ partnership. They had just taken the team to 100 when Yuzvendra Chahal was introduced into the attack. In his very first over, he removed both the left-handers and pulled the game back for his team.

Chahal went on to dismiss Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Jhye Richardson and Adam Zampa to bag six wickets. The leg spinner thus became the second Indian bowler to pick up 6 wickets at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, after Ajit Agarkar.


Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Alex Carey, 2.5 ov), 2-27 (Aaron Finch, 8.6 ov), 3-100 (Shaun Marsh, 23.1 ov), 4-101 (Usman Khawaja, 23.4 ov), 5-123 (Marcus Stoinis, 29.3 ov), 6-161 (Glenn Maxwell, 34.5 ov), 7-206 (Jhye Richardson, 43.3 ov), 8-219 (Peter Handscomb, 45.6 ov), 9-228 (Adam Zampa, 47.4 ov), 10-230 (Billy Stanlake, 48.4 ov)



Chasing just 231, India got off to a dodgy start with their three big guns in Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli getting dismissed relatively cheaply. The ever-reliable MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav then had an unbeaten 121-run partnership to see the team home in the last over.

This was only the third time since April 2015 that India had successfully chased down a total without any of their top three scoring a half-century. With the win, the team also bagged the ODI series 2-1.

While Dhoni won the Player of the Series award, the Player of the Match rightfully went to Chahal for his figures of 10-0-42-6.


Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Rohit Sharma, 5.6 ov), 2-59 (Shikhar Dhawan, 16.2 ov), 3-113 (Virat Kohli, 29.6 ov)



Australia - Alex Carey (wk), Aaron Finch (c), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Peter Siddle, Adam Zampa BenchNathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh 

India - Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal


Match Details


Match: AUS v IND, 3rd ODI, India tour of Australia, 2018-19 

Date: Friday, January 18, 2019 

Toss: India won the toss and decided to bowl 

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne 

Umpires: Michael Gough, Paul Wilson 

Third Umpire: Richard Kettleborough 

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft 


© Cricket World 2020