< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Williams, Ervine out of T20I series against India

Williams, Ervine out of T20I series against India
Sean Williams suffered a finger injury after the toss in the second ODI.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Craig Ervine and Sean Williams will not be featuring for Zimbabwe in the upcoming three-match Twenty20 International series against India due to the injures they sustained during the recently concluded One-Day International series.

Ervine suffered a hamstring injury in the first ODI while Williams injured his finger soon after the toss of the second game was completed.

In the 18-man squad named for the T20Is against India, the Zimbabwe selectors have called Brian Chari and Tinotenda Mutombodzi along with the uncapped Tapiwa Mufudza.

Chari, who made his debut for Zimbabwe in 2014, has so far played two Tests and four ODIs while he is yet to be capped in the T20I format.

From the squad which took part in the group stage of the World T20 Tournament, a total of 11 players have been retained by the selectors.

Tinashe Panyangara misses out due to a back injury while Luke Jongwe and Tendai Chisoro did not find a place in the squad.

During India’s previous tour of Zimbabwe in 2015, the hosts managed to win a T20I and skipper Graeme Cremer is looking to draw inspiration from that win.

Cremer also said that the team is motivated to put up a better performance in the T20I series after a below par display in the ODIs.

“We’re not going to reflect too much on the one-dayers, we are just going to look to hit the ground running in T20s.

“We’re going to try our best to turn things around, there’s not much else I can say to that.

“I think it’s motivating enough that the last T20 we played against India here is the one we won.

“It’s motivating enough knowing how it felt when we won the last time, how good the crowd was and how we enjoyed that.

“Guys are looking forward to doing well and obviously having a disappointing one-day series makes us even more motivated to do well in the T20.”

The three T20Is between Zimbabwe and India will be played on 18th, 20th and 22nd June with all the games slated to be hosted at the Harare Sports Club.

Zimbabwe T20I squad: Graeme Cremer (capt), Sikandar Raza, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Peter Moor, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Taurai Muzarabani, Vusi Sibanda, Donald Tiripano, Malcolm Waller.

© Cricket World 2016