Williamson Named In New Zealand Test Squad

Kane WIlliamson, Corey Anderson
Kane Williamson (left) and Corey Anderson are recovering from injuries and are in the Test squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Kane Williamson has been named in New Zealand's squad for the opening Test against the West Indies but will face a late fitness test on the thumb he fractured in Bangladesh.

Like Williamson, captain Brendon McCullum, all-rounder Corey Anderson and batsman Ross Taylor are in the squad having recovered from injuries.

There is also a recall for opening batsman Aaron Redmond, who could achieve the rare distinction of playing both for and against a touring side in consecutive fixtures after he was one of a number of guest New Zealanders playing in the tour game at Lincoln.

However, he has been selected as cover for Williamson and is unlikely to play his first Test since 2008.

Also returning after a lengthy absence is Tim Southee, back in the Test squad after ankle surgery, although he did feature during the One-Day International series in Bangladesh.

Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and Anderson, who made their debuts in Bangladesh, are poised to make their home debuts.

The opening Test in Dunedin begins on 3rd December.

New Zealand Test squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Peter Fulton, Aaron Redmond, Hamish Rutherford, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling Kane Williamson

© Cricket World 2013

Fixtures & Results

3rd-7th December: 1st Test, Dunedin
NZL 609-9 dec. & 79-4 drew with WIN 213 & 507
11th-15th December: 2nd Test, Wellington
NZL 441 beat WIN 193 & 175 by an inns. & 73 runs
19th-23rd December: 3rd Test, Hamilton
NZL 349 & 124-2 beat WIN 367 & 104 by 8 wickets
26th December: 1st ODI, Auckland
WIN beat NZL by 2 wickets
29th December: 2nd ODI, Napier
Match abandoned - rain
1st January: 3rd ODI, Queenstown
NZL 283-4 beat WIN 124-5 by 159 runs
4th January: 4th ODI, Nelson
NZL 285-6 beat WIN 134-5 by 59 runs (D/L)
8th January: 5th ODI, Hamilton
WIN 363-4 beat NZL 160 by 203 runs
11th January: 1st T20I, Auckland
NZL 189-5 beat WIN 108-8 by 81 runs
15th January: 2nd T20I, Wellington
NZL 163-6 beat WIN 159-5 by 4 wickets