< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Windies 13-member squad for Test series against Sri Lanka brings fortune for Devon Smith and Jahmar Hamilton

West Indies' Devon Smith dives to stop a shot
©Action Images via Reuters / Jason O'Brien Livepic

Left-hander Devon Smith and keeper-batsman Jahmar Hamilton have been included in the 13-member Windies squad.

The West Indies Cricket Board has announced the Windies squad for the three-match Test series against Sri Lanka beginning from the 6th of June.

While Sunil Ambris, Jermaine Blackwood, Alzarri Joseph and Raymon Reifer have been dropped from the squad against New Zealand, Jahmar Hamilton and Devon Smith have been included.

While announcing the squad Chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said, "We have retained the core of the Test team as they remain competitive even after a tough series in New Zealand.”

Senior batsman Devon Smith who was out of the reckoning for three years has earned back a place in the squad on the back of a stellar season in the Professional Cricket League Regional 4-Day Tournament, where he scored 1095 runs at a jaw-dropping average of 84.23. Smith also slammed six centuries to make the selectors aware that he still has a lot of cricket left in him.

Courtney Browne also praised the left-hander for his persistence:  “Devon Smith had an outstanding year and players who excel to that degree should be recognised. We are trying to improve our top order batting performances."

Another notable inclusion in the squad is that of uncapped 27-year-old keeper-batsman Jahmar Hamilton.  

"Jahmar Hamilton comes into the squad after consecutive strong performances over the last three years and showed even better quality in the 'A' team series against the England Lions. We wish the team every success," Brown added.

West Indies are scheduled to host 3 Tests against Sri Lanka. The first Test from 6th June -  10th June at the Queens Park Oval in Port of Spain, the second from  14th June -  18th June at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown and the third from  23th June -  27th June at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground Gros Islet in St Lucia.

13-member Windies Squad

Jason Holder (c), Devendra Bishoo, Devon Smith, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope and Kemar Roach

© Cricket World

Sri Lanka tour of West Indies 2018