< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Windies storm back in the series with handsome win in 3rd ODI

Ashley Nurse

The Windies lost the first ODI but came close to winning the second one. Finally in the third ODI, they have been able to get over the line.

India, who chose to bowl

West Indies won by 43 runs

West Indies283/9 (49.6 Ov)

India 240/10 (47.4 O

Player Of The Match: Ashley Nurse

Full Scorecard

WI - 283-9 (50.0 Overs)
IND - 240-all out (47.4 Overs)

Result- Windies won by 43 runs

After winning the toss, Virat Kohli tried to overcompensate for his decision in the last match. On a pitch that had more bite for the spinners in the second half, Kohli opted to bowl first.

The move appeared to be working as Windies kept losing wickets at successive intervals. They were 197 for 6 and 227 for 8 in their innings but first Shai Hope (95) did not allow India to run through the Windies batting line up and then Jason Holder and Ashley Nurse contributed to take the team to a good score of 283.

In reply, India lost the wicket of Rohit Sharma quite early but Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli steadied the ship. However, Dhawan's age-old weakness resurfaced as he was lbw against Ashley Nurse.

Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant and MS Dhoni all departed in regular intervals as Virat Kohli (107) was left waging a loan battle. Once he was dismissed by Marlon Samuels, the game was already done.

With Hardik Pandya injured and Kedar Jadhav returning in the final two ODIs, India is finding it tough to maintain their balance. They were a batsman short today and paid the price for it.

However, Virat Kohli feels that it was just one bad day in the office and the team needs to shake the loss away. The series is now level at 1-1 with two matches to go.  

West Indies Team: KAJ Roach, MN Samuels, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Devendra Bishoo, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Oshane Thomas, Alzarri Joseph, Sunil Ambris, Keemo Paul, Chandrapaul Hemraj

India Team: MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AT Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Lokesh Rahul, Shardul Thakur, Rishabh Pant, Khaleel Ahmed

© Cricket World