< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Women’s T20i Tri-Series: Australia beat India by 4 wickets

Australia's Ellyse Perry

Australia beat India by 4 wickets in the Women’s T20I Tri-Series, at the Manuka Oval, Canberra today thanks to a stunning all-round performance from Ellyse Perry.

Match Summary

Australia 104 – 6 (18.5 Ovs) – (Ashleigh Gardner 23, Ellyse Perry49; Rajeshwari Gayakwad 2-18)

India 103 – 9 – (20 Ovs) – (Harmanpreet Kaur 28, Smriti Mandhana 35; Ellyse Perry 4-13, Tayla Vlaeminck 3-13)

Result - Australia Women won by 4 wickets

Australia Women won the toss and decided to bowl against India.

A brilliant all-round performance from Ellyse Perry has steered Australia to a four-wicket win against India in the third match of the CommBank T20 Tri-Series at Manuka Oval today.

India went hard with the bat early scoring 15 runs off the first Megan Schutt (1-26) over, but Perry (4-13) and Tayla Vlaeminck (3-13) fought back with two wickets from as many overs to have the visitors 2-16.

Opener Smriti Mandhana (35) and captain Harmanpreeet Kaur (28) added 40 runs to the total before Mandhana was dismissed by spinner Jess Jonassen (1-19).

Kaur's dismissal four overs later marked the beginning of a collapse, with Perry and Vlaeminck claiming five wickets in ten balls to help restrict India to 9-103.

Australia made a nervy start to its chase losing Alyssa Healy for just one. 

Beth Mooney (6) and Ashleigh Gardner (22) combined well to get the scoreboard moving but just as they did India claimed both their wickets to have Australia 3-30.

Rachael Haynes (9) and Jess Jonassen (6) struggled to get going, but Perry held firm with a patient 49.
Perry eventually fell with just five runs required but Nicola Carey (9*) saw Australia home with seven balls to spare. 

Audio from a press conference with Perry after the match is available below:

Ellyse Perry audio




Australia - Beth Mooney, Alyssa Healy(wk), Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Rachael Haynes(c), Jess Jonassen, Annabel Sutherland, Nicola Carey, Georgia Wareham, Megan Schutt, Tayla Vlaeminck

India - Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia(wk), Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Arundhati Reddy, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav


Match Details


Start Time: 03:00

Toss: Australia Women won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Officials: Claire Polosak, Anthony Wilds, Donovan Koch, Stephen Bernard

©Cricket World 2020