Women's World Cup History - New Zealand 1982

Women's World Cup History - New Zealand 1982
Women's World Cup History - New Zealand 1982
©REUTERS / Action Images

The 1982 competition, held in New Zealand, saw Australia successfully defend the title that they won in 1978 with another victory over England in the final in Christchurch.

The tournament once again featured an International XI along with India and the other three Test-playing nations, with the five teams playing each other three times in a round-robin format in 60-over aside matches.

The International XI had a torrid time, losing all 12 of its matches and wouldn't feature again in the World Cup, while Australia comfortably topped the table, with only a tie against England spoiling their winning record. England also featured in the other tie, against New Zealand on the opening day in Auckland.

Generally, it was a relatively low-scoring competition, with 250 only passed on one occasion - by Australia against the International XI. This contrasts with 10 scores of 100 or less. The final on 7th February was also relatively low-scoring, with England, posting 151 for five thanks to Janet Allen’s 53, losing to Australia by three wickets with an over to spare.

Oddly, the top three run-scorers had all represented England at one stage or another in their careers, with the top Australian Jill Kennare with 351 runs from nine matches. Janette Brittin led the way with 391 runs from 12 games, while Welsh batter Lynne Thomas, who played for the International XI but had represented England in 1973, was second with 383.

There was again a remarkable shortage of Australians among the leading wicket-takers, with only Lyn Fullston and Raelee Thompson in the top nine.

Daniel Grummitt

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.