Women's World Cup Preview - Pakistan

Women's World Cup Preview - Pakistan
Women's World Cup Preview - Pakistan
©International Cricket Council

The development of women's cricket in Pakistan is still very much a work in progress, as shown by the country's non-appearance in all but two of the nine World Cups thus far. Indeed, cricket was not really played in Pakistan by women until the early 1990s and, even then, met with resistance from many owing to cultural and religious reasons.

However, in 1997, they made their maiden appearance at a world cup and, despite disappointment on that occasion, the game has continued to grow steadily. The introduction of a qualifying tournament for the 2005 event saw them not make the main tournament, with Ireland and West Indies beating them to it, but in 2009 they made the final and qualified along with South Africa. They were again forced to qualify for this year’s event, finishing as runner-up to West Indies in the tournament held in Bangladesh in November 2011.

The Pakistanis, as with many emerging nations, rely heavily on a small clutch of players. Nain Abidi, Bismah Maroof and skipper Sana Mir lead the batting, while the bowling duties are shared between the likes of Nida Dar, Mir and Sadia Yousuf.

Realistically, the best the Pakistan team can hope for is progression to the super six stage, with their final group match against South Africa likely to be crucial to that attempt.

2012-13 Form (most recent match first): WWW

23rd August 2012: beat Bangladesh by 4 wickets in Dublin
22nd August: beat Ireland by 42 runs (D/L) in Dublin
20th August: beat Bangladesh by 42 runs in Dublin

Previous Tournament Performances

1973, 1978, 1982, 1988, 1993: Didn’t participate
1997: Lost all five group matches including one to Denmark
2000: Didn’t participate
2005: Didn’t qualify
2009: lost fifth-place play-off to West Indies


1st February v Australia in Cuttack
3rd February v New Zealand in Cuttack
5th February v South Africa in Cuttack


Sana Mir (captain, RHB/LB), Nain Abidi (RHB), Bismah Maroof (LHB/LB), Javeria Khan (RHB/OB), Asmavia Iqbal (RHB/RMF), Batool Fatima (RHB/WK), Diana Baig (RHB/RM), Elizebath Khan (RHB/RFM), Nahida Khan (RHB/RM), Nida Dar (RHB/OB), Qanita Jalil (RHB/RMF), Rabiya Shah (LHB/OB), Sadia Yousuf (RHB/SLA), Sida Ameen (RHB/RMF), Sumaiya Siddiqi (RHB/RM).

Daniel Grummitt

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.