< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Women's T20 Challenge Trailblazers v Velocity: Velocity lose, but make the final against Supernovas

Trailblazers beat Velocity by 16 runs in the final league match of Women's T20 Challenge, but still not could make the final of the tournament.

Asked to bat at the MCA Stadium in Pune, Trailblazers posted 190 for five in their 20 overs. In their response, Velocity finished on 174 for nine in their 20 overs.

Velocity needed to score 159 to qualify for the final, while Trailblazers needed to restrict them below 158.

Earlier, Trailblazers was well served by Sabbhineni Meghana and Jemimah Rodrigues. Together the pair added 113 runs for the second wicket. They were aggressive from the start and were progressing at good rate. Meghana fell for 73 off 47 balls with seven boundaries and four sixes. Rodrigues followed for 66 off 44 balls with seven boundaries and a six. Towards the end Hayley Matthews (27) and Sophia Dunkley (19) used the long handle to good effect as Trailblazers finished on 190 for five in their 20 overs. For Velocity the most successful bowler was Simran Bahadur (2-31).

Velocity started off confidently as Yastika Bhatia and Shafali Varma were quick off the blocks. Then it was down to Kiran Navgire and Laura Wolvaardt to revive the chase. Navgire and Wolvaardt added 55 runs for the third wicket. After Wolvaardt fell, Navgire carried the chase forward. She finished on 69 off 34 balls with five boundaries and five sixes. But the chase got disrupted, but Velocity managed to get past the total of 159 to qualify for the final. In the end Velocity finished on 174 for nine in their 20 overs. For Trailblazers the best bowlers were Poonam Yadav (2-33) and Rajeshwari Gayakwad (2-44). 

Match Summary
Trailblazers: 190-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Smriti Mandhana-2.3 ov), 2-126 (Sabbhineni Meghana-14.3 ov), 3-157 (Jemimah Rodrigues-16.6 ov), 4-189 (Sophia Dunkley-19.4 ov), 5-190 (Hayley Matthews-19.6 ov)

Velocity: 174-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Yastika Bhatia-3.6 ov), 2-50 (Shafali Verma-4.6 ov), 3-105 (Laura Wolvaardt-10.1 ov), 4-116 (Deepti Sharma-11.5 ov), 5-144 (Sneh Rana-15.2 ov), 6-153 (Kiran Prabhu Navgire-16.4 ov), 7-155 (Radha Yadav-17.2 ov), 8-166 (Simran Bahadur-18.5 ov), 9-174 (Kate Cross-19.6 ov)


Result: Trailblazers won by 16 runs

Playing XI
Velocity: Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Shafali Verma, Natthakan Chantham, Laura Wolvaardt, Deepti Sharma (captain), K P Navgire, Sneh Rana, Simran Bahadur, Ayabonga Khaka, Kate Cross, Radha Yadav

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (captain), Hayley Matthews, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbhineni Meghana, Sophia Dunkley, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Salma Khatun, Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav, Renuka Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Match Details
Toss: Velocity, elected to ield
Venue: MCA Stadium, Pune
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Gayathrii Venugopal, Vrinda Rathi (On-field Umpires); Saiyed Khalid (TV Umpire); N Janani (Reserve Umpire); GS Lakshmi (Match-referee)