< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Worcestershire beat Yorkshire by 150 runs in Royal London One-Day Cup

Ben Cox 87 for Worcestershire today
©Cricket World / John Mallett

George Rhodes scored his maiden century for Worcestershire who took another step towards the knockout stages of the Royal London One-Day Cup by overpowering Yorkshire Vikings by 150 runs at Blackfinch New Road.

Match Summary

Worcestershire 293 - 7

Yorkshire 143

Result - Worcestershire won by 150 runs

The all-rounder reached three figures off 107 balls and shared in a record-breaking fifth wicket stand with fit again Ben Cox (87) to rescue the home side from 62-4 after they had elected to bat.

The partnership of 169 was Worcestershire’s best for any wicket in List A cricket against the Tykes and a total of 293-7 was well above par on a used wicket.

Wayne Parnell then made another decisive contribution with the ball with his second five wicket haul of the week after his 5-24 against Notts Outlaws.

He dismissed the Yorkshire top three and ended with 5-25 from seven overs as they were bowled out for 143 in 33 overs to end their qualification hopes.

In contrast Worcestershire – the North Group winners for the past two years – remain on course to progress further in the competition after a fifth win in seven games.

Worcestershire elected to bat with Cox returning after recovering from illness although batsman Daryl Mitchell was ruled out with a back injury.

Steven Patterson made the initial breakthrough when Riki Wessels (10) drove straight to Tom Kohler-Cadmore at cover.

Worcestershire were progressing serenely enough at 56-1 before three wickets fell for five runs in the space of 21 balls.

Tom Fell made an accomplished 31 off 41 balls but then charged at Patterson and skied a simple catch to mid on.

Callum Ferguson (14) was lbw to a Tim Bresnan delivery which cut back and acting skipper Brett D’Oliveira (2) provided Patterson with a third scalp when he holed out to backward point off a thick edged drive.

Patterson’s opening spell produced figures of 3-16 from seven overs.

But then Rhodes and Cox joined forces and after being initially watchful the pair gradually grew in confidence and flourished, mixing resourceful stroke-play with positive running between the wickets. 

It was the returning Patterson who finally ended the stand when Cox holed out to long on after striking 12 boundaries in his 86 ball knock with the total 231-5 in the 44th over.

Ross Whiteley made a breezy 16 before he was bowled by Pillans but Rhodes edged closer to three figures.

A risky single took him onto 99 before he punched Duanne Olivier onto the off side to complete his hundred which led to a standing ovation and a bear hug from Wayne Parnell.

He eventually fell to the final ball of the innings, bowled by Pillans after trying to help the ball around the corner.

Yorkshire made serene early progress in reply but the introduction of Parnell swung the game Worcestershire’s way.

Adam Lyth (22) bottom edged through to Cox, Harry Brook (0) was lbw and Kohler-Cadmore (31) was bowled through the gate against his former County.

Parnell had figures of 5-1-16-3 in his initial spell and his replacement Ed Barnard caused similar damage to the Yorkshire line-up from the Diglis End.

Jack Leaning (24) was bowled by a delivery which kept low, Jonathan Tattersall (13) was caught behind trying to steer to third man and Bresnan (1) was yorked to effectively end the game as a contest.

D’Oliveira got in on the act by having Gary Balance (9) lbw and holding onto a sharp return catch from Patterson (1) before Parnell returned to account for Pillans (31) and Josh Poysden (0).

Worcestershire won the toss and decided to bat first against Yorkshire at Blackfinch New Road, Worcester today in the Royal London One Day Cup.

Worcestershire - Tom Fell, Riki Wessels, Callum Ferguson, George Rhodes, Brett D'Oliveira(c), Ben Cox(wk), Ross Whiteley, Ed Barnard, Wayne Parnell, Patrick Brown, Charlie Morris

Yorkshire - Adam Lyth, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Harry Brook, Gary Balance, Jack Leaning, Jonathan Tattersall(wk), Tim Bresnan, Mathew Pillans, Steven Patterson(c), Duanne Olivier, Josh Poysden

©Cricket World 2019