Worcestershire manage to break shackles, register their maiden win this season

Mitchell Santner came up with an all-round performance
Mitchell Santner came up with an all-round performance

Worcestershire 208-8 (Clarke 60) beat
Nottinghamshire 195-5 (Hales 63) by 13 runs
North Group, Natwest T20 Blast, Trent Bridge

Joe Clarke and Ross Whiteley scored blistering knocks while Mitchell Santner came up with a strong all-round performance as Worcestershire finally managed to register their first win this season after beating Nottinghamshire by 30 runs in the Natwest T20 Blast encounter at Trent Bridge.

Nottinghamshire won the toss and decided to field first. Clarke (60) gave a perfect start to the innings with his 27 ball knock that had seven boundaries and three sixes but wickets fell around him to dent Worcestershire's momentum.

Daryl Mitchell (11), John Hastings (9), Ben Cox (9) and Brett D'Oliveira (3) all fell cheaply but thanks to Clarke's knock as they were going close to nine an over at halfway mark.

Just when it looked like the innings was losing momentum, Santner (35) and Ross Whiteley (42) played terrific innings to bring them on track. Whiteley, who scored six sixes in an over the other day, smashed five in his 16 ball innings including three off a single over from Harry Gurney (0-57).

Worcestershire eventually went on to post 208 for eight in the 20 overs with Ed Barnard (18 not out) too contributing with his nine ball cameo. Jake Ball (3-34) was the pick of the Nottinghamshire bowlers.

Nottinghamshire looked like they had things under control when the openers added 92 runs off 45 deliveries. Alex Hales (63) was the aggressor among the two while Riki Wessels (49) was hardly going at run a ball.

Santner (0-26) applied brake on the scoring rate as he conceded just 26 runs in four overs while Hastings' (3-31) triple strike dented Nottinghamshire's hopes a bit as they fell 14 runs short of the target despite a late nine-ball surge from Tom Moores (26 not out).

Nottinghamshire and Worcestershire are positioned seventh and eighth respectively in the table.

© Cricket World 2017