< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

World Cup Qualifier Fixtures Revealed

World Cup Trophy
Two sides will join Ireland in the 2015 World Cup following the qualifing event in New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

The 10 teams competing for the two remaining places at the 2015 World Cup have learnt in which groups they are placed and their fixtures for the qualifying tournament.

New Zealand will host the qualifying tournament from 12th to 31st January 2014 and a total of 34 matches will be played.

Canada, Hong Kong, Nepal, Scotland, United Arab Emirates are in Group A while Kenya, Namibia, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea and Uganda are in Group B.

The top three sides in the group progress to the Super Six stage, where they will play the three teams that have made it from the other group before the final, at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln.

"I am certain this is going to be a fantastic event here in New Zealand," Alan Isaac, ICC President said at the event launch.

"Many of the top Associate and Affiliate Members are evenly matched and I am expecting some thrilling matches during the tournament.
"I know the teams will have some of the best facilities at their disposal here in New Zealand and this event will give the country a taste of what is to come with the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2015.
"With Ireland and Afghanistan already qualified, I’m sure many of the teams competing here will be anxious to join them in the tournament and have the opportunity to perform on the global stage at the ICC’s pinnacle ODI-event."
New Zealand Cricket Chief Executive David White added: "New Zealand Cricket is delighted to be hosting the ICC CWCQ 2014 and giving fans of cricket across the country an opportunity to watch some of the best 50-over cricketers outside of the Test-playing nations.
"New Zealand Cricket looks forward to welcoming all 10 sides to the country and this will be a wonderful lead-up to the ICC Cricket World Cup which we will be co-hosting with Australia in 2015.

"I’d like to take this opportunity to wish all the teams competing in the event the very best of luck, and may the two best sides qualify for the tournament here in 2015."

© Cricket World 2013