< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WPL 2023: Delhi Capitals Women v UP Warriorz Women, Match 20: Capsey's all-round show seals the deal

Delhi Capitals celebrate their win
Delhi Capitals celebrate their win

Delhi Capitals ended its campaign in the Women's Premier League with a comprehensive win over UP Warriorz at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday.

Asked to bat UP made 138 for six in their 20 overs and in response Delhi overhauled the target in 17.5 overs to finish on 142 for five.

UP captain Alyssa Healy (36) steadied the ship early on. She allied with Simran Shaikh and Shweta Sehrawat at the top. Then Tahlia McGrath took charge as he made an unbeaten 58 off 32 balls with eight boundaries and two sixes. McGrath rallied the middle and lower-order very well. UP finished on 138 for six in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Alice Capsey (3-26) and Radha Yadav (2-28).

In their response the Delhi openers captain Meg Lanning and Shafali Verma added 56 in just 4.5 overs. Then there was a collapse as the innings slid from 56 for no loss to 70 for three. Then Marizanne Kapp put on 60 for the fourth wicket with Capsey. It was then quite easy towards the end Delhi chased the score down in 17.5 overs to finish on 142 for five. Kapp finished unbeaten on 34. For UP the best bowler was Shabnim Ismail (2-29).

Delhi and UP will now face off in the eliminator clash on Friday.

Match Summary
UP Warriorz Women: 138-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Shweta Sehrawat-4.1 ov), 2-63 (Alyssa Healy-9.6 ov), 3-71 (Simran Shaikh-11.6 ov), 4-91 (Kiran Navgire-14.5 ov), 5-104 (Deepti Sharma-17.1 ov), 6-105 (Sophie Ecclestone-17.3 ov)

Delhi Capitals Women: 142-5
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Shafali Verma-4.5 ov), 2-67 (Jemimah Rodrigues-6.1 ov), 3-70 (Meg Lanning-6.5 ov), 4-130 (Alice Capsey-16.2 ov), 5-136 (Jess Jonassen-17.3 ov)


Playing XIs
UP Warriorz Women: Alyssa Healy (wicket-keeper & captain), Kiran Navgire, Tahlia McGrath, Deepti Sharma, Soppadhandi Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Simran Shaikh, Parshavi Chopra, Sophie Ecclestone, Anjali Sarvani, Shabnim Ismail

Delhi Capitals Women: Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Jess Jonassen, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandeu, Poonam Yadav

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals Women, elected to field
Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Gayathri Venugopalan, Nitin Pandit (On-field Umpires); Vrinda Rathi (TV Umpire); Pashchim Pathak (Reserve Umpire); Varsha Nagre (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2023