< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WPL 2023: Delhi Capitals Women vs Gujarat Giants Women, Match 9: Kapp, Verma star in thumping win

Marizanne Kapp
Marizanne Kapp 5-15 today for Delhi Capitals Women

Delhi Capitals continued its fine run in the Women's Premier League (WPL) as they thrashed Gujarat Giants by 10 wickets at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Saturday night.

After opting to bat, Gujarat was restricted to 105 for nine in their 20 overs. Delhi chased down the target in just 7.1 overs to finish on 107 for no loss.

Earlier, Gujarat was reduced to 9 for three. They then depended on Harleen Deol to hold the innings together. But after she made 20 off 14 balls the innings slipped to 28 for five. Then Georgia Wareham put on 33 runs for the sixth wicket with Kim Garth. But that was not enough as wickets started falling soon after. Garth held the innings together with an unbeaten 32 off 37 balls with three boundaries. Towards the end Gujarat lost wickets in heap as they ended on 105 for nine in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Marizanne Kapp (5-15) and Shikha Pandey (3-26).

In their response, Delhi chased down the target without much fuss. Their openers captain Meg Lanning and Shafali Verma made merry as they put on an unbroken 107 for no loss as Delhi chased down the target in just 7.1 overs. Verma remained unbeaten on 76 off 28 balls with 10 boundaries and five sixes. 

Match Summary
Gujarat Giants Women: 105-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Sabbhineni Meghana-0.2 ov), 2-9 (Laura Wolvaardt-2.2 ov), 3-9 (Ashleigh Gardner-2.3 ov), 4-18 (Dayalan Hemalatha-3.3 ov), 5-28 (Harleen Deol-4.4 ov), 6-33 (Sushma Verma-6.5 ov), 7-66 (Georgia Wareham-12.2 ov), 8-94 (Tanuja Kanwar-18.3 ov), 9-96 (Sneh Rana-18.6 ov)

Delhi Capitals Women: 107-0 (7.1)


Playing XIs

Delhi Capitals Women: Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Laura Harris, Marizanne Kapp, Jess Jonassen, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Shikha Pandey, Minnu Mani, Radha Yadav, Tara Norris

Gujarat Giants Women: S Meghana, Laura Wolvaardt, Harleeon Deol, Ashleigh Gardner, Dayalan Hemalatha, Georgia Wareham, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Kim Garth, Sneh Rana (captain), Tanuja Kanwar, Mansi Joshi

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Giants Women, elected to bat
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Gayathri Venugopalan, Sanjay Kumar Singh (On-field Umpires); Vrinda Rathi (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); GS Lakshmi (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023