< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WPL 2023: Delhi Capitals Women vs MI Women, Match 7: Mumbai keep winning

Delhi Capitals Women vs Mumbai Indians Women
Delhi Capitals Women vs Mumbai Indians Women

Mumbai Indians raced to their third straight win in the Women's Premier League as they beat Delhi Capitals by eight wickets at the DY Patil Stadium on Thursday.

After opting to bat, Delhi was bowled out for 105 in 18 overs and in response Mumbai chased down the target in 15 overs to finish on 109 for two.

For Delhi, the only saving grace was a 50 run fourth wicket stand between captain Meg Lanning and Jemimah Rodrigues. Lanning top-scored with 43 off 41 balls with five boundaries. But after the fall of the fourth wicket at 81, the innings slipped to 98 for eight. From there on the tail collapsed without any fight to finish on 105 in 18 overs. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Saika Ishaque (3-13), Issy Wong (3-10) and Haley Matthews (3-19).

The chase for Mumbai was easy as their openers Yastika Bhatia and Hayley Matthews put on 65 for the first wicket. Then Nat Sciver-Brunt teamed up with captain Harmanpreet Kaur to take the team to victory. In the end Mumbai finished on 109 for two in 15 overs. For Mumbai the top-scorer was Bhatia (41: 32b, 8x4) and Matthews made 32 off 31 balls with six boundaries. 

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals Women: 105 (18)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Shafali Verma-1.6 ov), 2-24 (Alice Capsey-5.2 ov), 3-31 (Marizanne Kapp-6.4 ov), 4-81 (Jemimah Rodrigues-12.2 ov), 5-84 (Meg Lanning-12.6 ov), 6-84 (Jess Jonassen-13.1 ov), 7-84 (Minnu Mani-13.4 ov), 8-98 (Taniya Bhatia-16.2 ov), 9-102 (Radha Yadav-16.6 ov), 10-105 (Tara Norris-17.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians Women: 109-2 (15)
Fall of wickets: 1-65 (Yastika Bhatia-8.5 ov), 2-77 (Hayley Matthews-11.3 ov)


Playing XI
Delhi Capitals Women: Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Meg Lanning (captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Alice Capsey, Marizanne Kapp, Shafali Verma, Minnu Mani, Jess Jonassen, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Tara Norris

Mumbai Indians Women: Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Amanjot Kaur, Natalie Sciver, Amelia Kerr, Hayley Matthews, Humaira Kazi, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Saika Ishaque, Jintimani Kalita

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals Women, elected to bat
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Madanagopal Kuppuraj, Vrinda Rathi (On-field Umpires); Pashchim Pathak (TV Umpire); Chirra Ravikanthreddy (Reserve Umpire); Varsha Nagre (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023