< >
Cricket Betting us

WPL 2023: Delhi Capitals Women vs Mumbai Indians Women, Final: Sciver-Brunt knock takes Mumbai to title

Mumbai Indians won the inaugural Women's Premier League title as they beat Delhi Capitals by seven wickets in the final at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

After opting bat, Delhi Capitals posted 131 for nine in their 20 overs and in response Mumbai chased down the target in 19.3 pvers to finish on 134 for three.

Earlier, Delhi suffered an early collapse. Captain Meg Lanning tried to hold the innings together as she finished on 35. Delhi went from 73 for three to 79 for nine. They lost six wickets for just six runs as the innings lost shape. Then Shikha Pandey teamed up with Radha Yadav for the tenth wicket in a stand which was unbroken. Pandey and Yadav added 52 runs for the final wicket. Pandey and Yadav finished unbeaten on 27. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Issy Wong (3-42), Hayley Matthews (3-5) and Amelia Kerr (2-18).

In their response, Mumbai lost their openers Matthews and Yastika Bhatia early. Then Nat Sciver-Brunt allied with skipper Harmanpreet Kaur to put on 72 runs for the third wicket. Kaur made 37 off 39 balls. Then Sciver-Brunt teamed up with Amelia Kerr for the fourth wicket to put on 39 runs in an unbroken stand. Sciver-Brunt finished unbeaten on 60 off 55 balls with seven boundaries.

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals Women: 131-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Shafali Verma-1.3 ov), 2-12 (Alice Capsey-1.5 ov), 3-35 (Jemimah Rodrigues-4.2 ov), 4-73 (Marizanne Kapp-10.3 ov), 5-74 (Meg Lanning-11.4 ov), 6-75 (Arundhati Reddy-12.6 ov), 7-75 (Jess Jonassen-13.2 ov), 8-79 (Minnu Mani-15.4 ov), 9-79 (Taniya Bhatia-15.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians Women: 134-3 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Yastika Bhatia-1.3 ov), 2-23 (Hayley Matthews-3.4 ov), 3-95 (Harmanpreet Kaur-16.1 ov)


Playing XIs
Delhi Capitals Women: Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Arundhati Reddy, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Minnu Mani

Mumbai Indians Women: Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Hayley Matthews, Natalie Sciver, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Humaira Kazi, Amanjot Kaur, Issy Wong, Saika Ishaque, Jintimani Kalita

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals Women, elected to bat
Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: N Janani, Vrinda Rathi (On-field Umpires); Pashchim Pathak (TV Umpire); Gayathri Venugopalan (Reserve Umpire); GS Lakshmi (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023