< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WPL 2023: Delhi Capitals Women vs UP Warriorz, Match 5: Jonassen stars for Delhi in easy win

Meg Lanning celebrates a half century for Delhi Capitals
Meg Lanning celebrates a half century for Delhi Capitals
Ecclestone and McGrath celebrate
Ecclestone and McGrath celebrate

Delhi Capitals continued their fine run in the Women's Premier League (WPL) with a 42 run win over UP Warriorz on Sunday at the DY Patil Stadium.

Asked to bat Delhi posted 211 for four in their 20 overs and in response UP finished on 169 for five in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Delhi started off well again as captain Meg Lanning put on 67 for the first wicket with Shafali Verma. Lanning carried she added crucial runs with the other batters. Lanning finished on 70 off 42 balls with 10 boundaries and three sixes. Jemimah Rodrigues carried the innings forward as she finished unbeaten on 34 off 22 balls with four boundaries. Rodrigues added an unbeaten 67 runs for the fifth wicket with Jess Jonassen. In the end Jonassen finished unbeaten on 42 off 20 balls with three boundaries and three sixes. Delhi finished on 211 for four in their 20 overs.

In their response UP lost a heap of wickets as they slipped from 29 for no loss to 31 for three. Then a 40 run stand between Deepti Sharma and Tahlia McGrath carried the innings forward. McGrath then teamed up with Devika Vaidya as they put on 49 runs for the fifth wicket. McGrath remained unbeaten on 90 off 50 balls with 11 boundaries and four sixes. In the end UP Warriorz finished on 169 for five in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowler was Jonassen (3-43). 

Match Summary
Delhi Capitals Women: 211-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Shafali Verma-6.3 ov), 2-96 (Marizanne Kapp-10.2 ov), 3-112 (Meg Lanning-11.3 ov), 4-144 (Alice Capsey-14.2 ov)

UP Warriorz: 169-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-29 (Alyssa Healy-3.3 ov), 2-31 (Kiran Navgire-3.5 ov), 3-31 (Shweta Sehrawat-4.2 ov), 4-71 (Deepti Sharma-10.1 ov), 5-120 (Devika Vaidya-16.5 ov)


Playing XI
Delhi Capitals Women: Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Marizanne Kapp, Jemimah Rodrigues, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Radha Yadav, Tara Norris

UP Warriorz Women: Alyssa Healy (captain & wicket-keeper), Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire,
Tahlia McGrath, Deepti Sharma, Simran Shaikh, Devika Vaidya, Shabnim Ismail, Sophie Ecclestone, Anjali Sarvani, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Match Details
Toss: UP Warriorz Women, elected to field
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chirra Ravikanthreddy, Vrinda Rathi (On-field Umpires); N Janani (TV Umpire); Madanagopal Kuppuraj (Reserve Umpire); Rajni Basnet (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023