< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WPL 2023: Gujarat Giants Women v UP Warriorz, Match 17: UP enter playoffs, knock Gujarat and RCB out

UP Warriorz's Grace Harris and Sophie Ecclestone
UP Warriorz's Grace Harris and Sophie Ecclestone

UP Warriorz made it to the playoffs of the Women's Premier League after they beat Gujarat Giants by three wickets with a ball to spare at the Brabourne Stadium on Monday.

Both Gujarat and Royal Challengers Bangalore Women have been knocked out of the playoff race. Delhi Capitals is the other side alongside UP to make it to the playoffs, while Mumbai Indians have entered the final.

After opting to bat, Gujarat posted 178 for six in their 20 overs and in response UP chased down the target in 19.5 overs to finish on 181 for seven.

Earlier, Gujarat started off briskly as they put on 41 in just 4.1 overs. But then there was a collapse as Gujarat slipped from 41 for no loss to 50 for three. Then a 93 run stand for the fourth wicket between Dayalan Hemalatha and Ashleigh Gardner revived the innings. Hemalatha finished on 57 off 33 balls with six boundaries and three sixes. Gardner made 60 off 39 balls with six boundaries and three sixes. In the end Gujarat finished on 178 for six in their 20 overs. For UP the best bowlers were Rajeshwari Gayakwad (2-39) and Parshavi Chopra (2-29).

In their response UP was reduced to 39 for three. Then Tahlia McGrath and Grace Harris added 78 runs for the fourth wicket. McGrath finished on 57 off 38 balls with 11 boundaries. Harris made a 41 ball 72 with seven boundaries and four sixes. There was another stand for the sixth wicket between Harris and Sophie Ecclestone which kept the chase on track. In the end UP needed seven runs off the final over. They overhauled the target in 19.5 overs to finish on 181 for seven. For Gujarat the best bowler was Kim Garth (2-29).

Tomorrow is the final day of the league phase of the inaugural edition of the Women's Premier League. 

Match Summary
Gujarat Guants Women: 178-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Laura Wolvaardt-4.1 ov), 2-45 (Sophia Dunkley-5.1 ov), 3-50 (Harleen Deol-5.6 ov), 4-143 (Dayalan Hemalatha-16.1 ov), 5-166 (Ashleigh Gardner-18.1 ov), 6-177 (Ashwani Kumari-19.4 ov)

UP Warriorz Women: 181-7 (19.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Alyssa Healy-1.5 ov), 2-19 (Kiran Navgire-2.4 ov), 3-39 (Devika Vaidya-4.5 ov), 4-117 (Tahlia McGrath-13.4 ov), 5-130 (Deepti Sharma-14.6 ov), 6-172 (Grace Harris-18.5 ov), 7-177 (Simran Shaikh-19.4 ov)


Playing XIs

Gujarat Giants Women: Sophia Dunkley, Laura Wolvaardt, Harleen Deol, Dayalan Hemalatha, Ashleigh Gardner, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Ashwani Kumari, Kim Garth, Monica Patel, Sneh Rana (captain), Tanuja Kanwar

UP Warriorz Women: Devika Vaidya, Alyssa Healy (captain & wicket-keeper), Kiran Navgire, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Simran Shaikh, Parshavi Chopra, Anjali Sarvani, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Match Details
Toss: Gujarat Giants Women, elected to bat
Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: Sanjay Kumar Singh, Saurabh Dhote (On-field Umpires); Madanagipal Kuppuraj (TV Umpire); N Janani (Reserve Umpire); GS Lakshmi (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023