< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WPL 2023: Mumbai Indians Women v DelhI Capitals Women, Match 18: Kapp spells Mumbai's doom

Alice Capsey in action for Delhi Capitals
Alice Capsey in action for Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals registered an impressive nine wicket win over Mumbai Indians in its penultimate Women's Premier League match at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Monday.

Asked to bat, Mumbai posted 109 for eight in their 20 overs and in response Delhi chased down the target in nine overs to finish on 110 for one.

Mumbai while batting first lost their top-order cheaply. Mumbai was reduced to 21 for four in 6.5 overs. Then skipper Harmanpreet Kaur tried to steady the ship with Pooja Vastrakar. The two put on 37 run fifth wicket stand. Then Issy Wong took charge of the innings. Wong made 23 off 24 balls. In the end Mumbai finished on 109 for eight in their 20 overs. For Delhi the best bowlers were Marizanne Kapp (2-13), Shikha Pandey (2-21) and Jess Jonassen (2-25).

In their response, Delhi was well served by an opening stand between skipper Meg Lanning and Shafali Verma. The two openers added 56 for the opening wicket. Verma fell for 33 off 15 balls with six boundaries and a six. Lanning then teamed up with Alice Capsey to put on 54 runs for the second wicket. Lanning made 32 off 22 balls and Capsey finished unbeaten on 38 off 17 balls. Delhi chased down the target in nine overs to finish on 110 for one. 

Match Summary
Mumbai Indians Women: 109-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Yastika Bhatia, 2.1 ov), 2-6 (Nat Sciver-Brunt, 2.2 ov), 3-10 (Hayley Matthews, 3.3 ov), 4-21 (Amelia Kerr, 6.5 ov), 5-58 (Pooja Vastrakar, 11.4 ov), 6-74 (Harmanpreet Kaur, 14.5 ov), 7-104 (Issy Wong, 19.2 ov), 8-109 (Amanjot Kaur-19.6)

Delhi Capitals Women: 110-1 (9)
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Shafali Verma-4.3 ov) 


Playing XI
Delhi Capitals: Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Arundhati Reddy, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav

Mumbai Indians: Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Amelia Kerr, Issy Wong, Pooja Vastrakar, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque

Match Details
Toss: Delhi Capitals Women, elected to field
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chirra Ravikanthreddy, Ranjeev Sharma (On-field Umpires); Gayathri Venugopalan (TV Umpire); Vrinda Rathi (Reserve Umpire); Rajni Basnet (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2023