< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WPL 2023: Mumbai Indians Women v RCB Women, Match 19: Kerr's all-round show stars in Mumbai win

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women vs Mumbai Indians Women
Royal Challengers Bangalore Women vs Mumbai Indians Women

Mumbai Indians ended the league phase of the Women's Premier League with a commanding four wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Tuesday.

Asked to bat, Bangalore posted 125 for nine in their 20 overs and in response Mumbai chased down the target in 16.3 overs to finish on 129 for six.

Earlier, Bangalore was served by a 32 run second wicket stand between captain Smriti Mandhana and Ellyse Perry. Bangalore kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Richa Ghosh made a quickfire 29 off 13 balls to push the scoring ahead. Towards the end Bangalore kept losing wickets as they could not up the scoring rate. Bangalore ended on 125 for nine in their 20 overs. For Mumbai the best bowlers were Amelia Kerr (3-22), Nat Sciver-Brunt (2-24) and Issy Wong (2-26).

Mumbai started well with their openers Hayley Matthews and Yastika Bhatia adding 53 runs in the powerplay. The innings lost momentum as Mumbai slipped from 53 for no loss to 73 for four. Then a 47 run fifth wicket stand between Kerr and Pooja Vastrakar put the chase back on track. Kerr finished unbeaten on 31 off 27 balls. In the end Mumbai chased down the target in 16.3 overs to finish on 129 for six. For Bangalore the best bowler was Kanika Ahuja (2-5). 

Match Summary
Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: 125-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Sophie Devine-0.3 ov), 2-33 (Smriti Mandhana-6.4 ov), 3-59 (Heather Knight-10.6 ov), 4-78 (Kanika Ahuja-14.4 ov), 5-91 (Ellyse Perry-16.1 ov), 6-95 (Shreyanka Patil-16.4 ov), 7-108 (Megan Schutt-17.5 ov), 8-119 (Richa Ghosh-19.1 ov), 9-125 (Disha Kasat-19.6 ov)

Mumbai Indians Women: 129-6 (16.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-53 (Yastika Bhatia-5.6 ov), 2-62 (Hayley Matthews-7.1 ov), 3-72 (Nat Sciver-Brunt-8.4 ov), 4-73 (Harmanpreet Kaur-9.1 ov), 5-120 (Pooja Vastrakar-15.5 ov), 6-120 (Issy Wong-15.6 ov)


Playing XI
Roya Challengers Bangalore Women: Smriti Mandhana (captain), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight, Kanika Ahuja, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Shreyanka Patil, Megan Schutt, Disha Kasat, Sobhana Asha

Mumbai Indians Women: Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque

Match Details
Toss: Mumbai Indians Women, elected to field
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: Madanagopal Kuppuraj, N Janani (On-field Umpires); Ranjeev Sharma (TV Umpire); Saurabh Dhote (Reserve Umpire); Anupa Narvekar (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023