< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WPL 2023: RCB Women v UP Warriorz Women, Match 13: Bangalore finally post a win in the tournament

Ellyse Perry in action for RCB
Ellyse Perry in action for RCB

Royal Challengers Bangalore finally posted their first win in the Women's Premier League as they beat UP Warriorz by five wickets with 12 balls to spare.

Asked to bat UP was bowled out for 135 in 19.3 overs and in response UP chased down the target in 18 overs to finish on 136 for five.

Earlier, UP were reduced to five for three. The top-order had been dismissed cheaply. Then Kiran Navgire teamed up with Grace Harris to revive the innings. The innings suffered another collapse as they were reduced to 31 for six in 8.1 overs. Then Deepti Sharma and Harris teamed up to add 69 runs for the sixth wicket. Harris top-scored with 46 off 32 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. In the end UP lost wickets in a heap as they were bowled out for 135 in 19.3 overs. For Bangalore the top wicket-takers were Ellyse Perry (3-16), Sobhana Asha (2-27) and Sophie Devine (2-23).

In their response, Bangalore lost their openers cheaply. They were reduced to 14 for two. Then Perry fell soon after, followed soon after by Heather Knight. Kanika Ahuja took charge of the chase as she made a quickfire 46 off 30 balls with eight boundaries and a six. Ahuja put on a brisk stand of 60 with Richa Ghosh for the fifth wicket. In the end Bangalore chased down the target in 18 overs to finish on 136 for five. For UP the best bowler was Deepti Sharma (2-26). 

Match Summary
UP Warriorz Women: 135 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Devika Vaidya-0.2 ov), 2-2 (Alyssa Healy-0.6 ov), 3-5 (Tahlia McGrath-1.6 ov), 4-29 (Kiran Navgire-6.2 ov), 5-31 (Simran Shaikh-8.1 ov), 6-100 (Deepti Sharma-15.1 ov), 7-101 (Grace Harris-15.3 ov), 8-112 (Shweta Sehrawat-17.2 ov), 9-133 (Anjali Sarvani-19.2 ov), 10-135 (Sophie Ecclestone-19.3 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: 136-5 (18)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Sophie Devine-0.6 ov), 2-14 (Smriti Mandhana-1.3 ov), 3-43 (Ellyse Perry-6.1 ov), 4-60 (Heather Knight-8.6 ov), 5-120 (Kanika Ahuja-16.4 ov) 


Playing XI
Royal Challengers Bangalore Women: Smriti Mandhana (captain), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Shreyanka Patil, Kanika Ahuja, Megan Schutt, Asha Sobhana, Renuka Singh, Disha Kasat

UP Warriorz Women: Alyssa Healy (captain & wicket-keeper), Devika Vaidya, Kiran Navgire, Tahlia McGrath, Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris, Shweta Sehrawat, Simran Shaikh, Sophie Ecclestone, Anjali Sarvani, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 

Match Details
Toss: Royal Challengers Bangalore Women, elected to bowl
Venue: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Madanagopal Kuppuraj, Sanjay Kumar Singh (On-field Umpires); Nitin Pandit (TV Umpire); Pashchim Pathak (Reserve Umpire); GS Lakshmi (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2023