< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WWT20 Qualifier semi-final line-ups confirmed

Bangladesh players celebrate
Bangladesh beat Thailand to make it three group wins out of three
©International Cricket Council

Ireland will play Scotland and Zimbabwe will take on Bangladesh in the semi-finals of the ICC Women's World T20 Qualifier following the final round of group games in Bangkok.

Ireland beat Zimbabwe to finish top of Group B where China beat Netherlands although neither side could qualify for the knockout stages.


3rd December

Trophy Semi-Finals

Bangladesh v Zimbabwe

Ireland v Scotland

Shield Semi-Finals

Netherlands v Papua New Guinea

China v Thailand

5th December

Trophy Final & 3rd/4th place play-off

Shield Final & 3rd/4th place play-off

In Group A, Bangladesh beat Papua New Guinea by 41 runs and Thailand ended a disappointing group stage by going down to Scotland by six wickets.

Thailand posted 74 for seven but Scotland charged into the semi-finals by reaching their target in the 19th over, Rachel Scholes hitting 32.

Bangladesh completed a perfect group stage with three wins out of three.

Fargana Hoque top scored with 28 as they posted 100 for seven and their bowlers sealed victory by bowling PNG out for 59 in 19.5 overs.

Khadija Tul Kubra took five for 11 and Rumana Ahmed three for 13.

The match between Ireland and Zimbabwe would determine who finished on top of the group and Ireland were comfortable victors by seven wickets.

Isobel Joyce continued her fine form with a haul of four for 20 as Zimbabwe were bowled out for 79 as their bid to top the group collapsed.

Ireland wasted little time in reaching their target, thanks largely to openers Clare Shillington (22) and Cecelia Joyce (36) they got home in 15.2 overs.

The dead rubber in the group provided the day's closest match with China chasing down 102 to beat Netherlands by five wickets.

Miranda Veringmeier (28) and Cher van Slobbe (25) made early progress for the Dutch before their innings fell away, with three run outs damaging their cause, and they closed on 101 for six.

China made a terrible start and were six for three before captain Huang Zhuo led them home with an unbeaten 40 in 54 balls.

She received support from F Song (21) and C Yudian (15 not out).

China, Netherlands, PNG and Thailand will now compete for the Shield title while the remaining four teams battle for the two spots available at next year's ICC Women's World T20 in India.

© Cricket World 2015