Younus Gets Contract Upgrade

Younus Khan
Younus Khan will now receive a Category A contract along with five other players
©REUTERS / Action Image

Younus Khan will receive a Category A contract after the Pakistan Cricket Board made an amendment to the rules governing the award of central contracts.

Younus, who led the side to the ICC World Twenty20 title in 2009, was originally awarded a Category B contract along with Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal and Umar Gul.

Junaid Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal and Shahid Afridi were the five players given Category A contracts.

The new amendment now makes it clear that any player who has played more than 300 times for their country and captained in all three formats are automati

Explaining the change, PCB Chairman Najam Sethi said: "The Committee comprising Zakir Khan, Moin Khan and Mohammad Akram did a good job in framing the rules but it did not sufficiently address all issues, especially fitness and past performance, whereby a class player like Younis Khan was a fitting candidate for Category ‘A’.”cally eligible for a Category A contract."

Younus has played 89 Tests, 253 One-Day Internationals and 25 Twenty20 Internationals and has captained his country on 38 occasions.

Category A contracts

Junaid Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Younus Khan

Category B contracts

Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul

Category C contracts

Abdur Rehman, Adnan Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Khurram Manzoor, Nasir Jamshed

Category D contracts

Anwar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti, Ehsan Adil, Fawad Alam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Talha, Rahat Ali, Raza Hasan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sharjeel Khan, Shan Masood, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Amin, Wahab Riaz, Zulfiqar Babar

© Cricket World 2014