< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Yuvraj, Pietersen Hot Picks For IPL 2015 Auction

Yuvraj, Pietersen Hot Picks For IPL 2015 Auction
Kevin Pietersen has acquired the highest base price for the 2015 IPL auction.
©REUTERS / Action Images

After being released by their respective Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises, Yuvraj Singh, Kevin Pietersen and Dinesh Karthik have acquired the highest base price of $US 330,000 for the 2015 IPL auction.

Joining the elite list along with Yuvraj and Pietersen is South Africa's Test skipper Hashim Amla.

Yuvraj proved out to be the most expensive player of 2014 IPL auction after he was bagged for a whopping £US 2.28 million by the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

India's discarded wicket-keeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik, proved out to be the second most expensive player of 2014 auction where Delhi Daredevils purchased him with a winning bid of $US 1.95 million.

In addition to the existing amount left in the purse, all IPL teams have been given an additional amount of $US 490,000 for the upcoming auction.

Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore will have the highest purse amount heading into this year’s IPL auction with the former having released as many as 13 players from the previous edition squad.

Pietersen, Karthik, Murali Vijay and Ross Taylor are among the top players who have been released by the Delhi Daredevils franchise resulting in approximately $US 6.51 million remaining in their purse amount.

The 2015 IPL auction will be conducted in Bangalore on 16th February.

The eighth edition of the IPL kicks off on 16th April with Kolkata Knight Riders taking on Mumbai Indians in the season opener.

The current balance purse amount of all the IPL franchises is given below:-

Franchise Purse Balance (in USD) Captain Overseas Players Retained
Delhi Daredevils 6.51 M TBD Jean-Paul Duminy, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Quinton De Kock, Imran Tahir.
Royal Challengers Bangalore 3.42 M Virat Kohli AB deVillers, Chris Gayle, Mitchell Starc, Nic Maddinson, Rilee Rossouw.
Sunrisers Hyderabad 3.38 M Shikhar Dhawan Dale Steyn, David Warner, Moises Henriques.
Kolkata Knight Riders 2.11 M Gautam Gambhir Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Morne Morkel, Patrick Cummins, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine.
Rajasthan Royals 2.11 M Shane Watson Shane Watson, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Tim Southee.
Kings XI Punjab 1.92 M George Bailey Beuran Hendricks, David Miller, George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Thisara Perera.
Mumbai Indians 1.63 M Rohit Sharma Corey Anderson, Josh Hazlewood, Keiron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Marchant de Lange, Lendl Simmons.
Chennai Super Kings 0.81 M MS Dhoni Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Faf du Plessis, Matt Henry, Samuel Badree.

© Cricket World 2015