< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zaman, Amir rip India to win maiden Champions Trophy title for Pakistan

Pakistan celebrating the Champions Trophy victory
Pakistan celebrating the Champions Trophy victory

Pakistan 338-4 (Zaman 114) beat
India 158 (Pandya 76) by 180 runs
Final, ICC Champions Trophy, Kennington Oval

Fakhar Zaman scored his maiden century while Mohammad Amir ripped the Indian top order as Pakistan completed a massive 180 run victory in the final at Kennington Oval on Sunday to win their maiden ICC Champions Trophy tournament.

The No-Ball that proved costly

India won the toss and elected to field first. After restricting Pakistan to seven for naught in the first three overs, Jasprit Bumrah (0-68) had Zaman (114) caught behind but only to find, he had overstepped. Both Zaman and Azhar Ali (59) made India pay and scored 49 runs in seven overs to take the score to 56 for naught in the first powerplay. The onslaught from the duo continued as they capitalised on some sloppy Indian fielding and brought the 100-run opening stand in 18 overs. Even though, Ali was run out, Zaman upped the ante, smashing four boundaries and two sixes in a span of three overs and completed his century off 92 deliveries. Pakistan were 183 for one in 30.1 overs at that stage.

Unrelenting Pakistan continued to attack

Zaman fell in the 34th over on completing his century and soon Shoaib Malik (12) too departed after chipping to sweeper cover. However, Babar Azam (46) along with quick fire knocks from Mohammad Hafeez (57 not out) and Imad Wasim (25 not out) ensured Pakistan reached 338 for four in the 50 overs. The last 10 yielded 91 runs for Pakistan as India were left with a daunting task.

Mohammad Amir stun in-form Indian top order cheaply

Amir (3-16) provided the initial breakthrough when he trapped Rohit Sharma (0) tapped LBW in the third delivery and in his next over, Virat Kohli (5) was caught at backward point. Even though Shikhar Dhawan (21) tried to get the innings going with four boundaries, he soon became the third victim of Amir when he edged one to the keeper.

India slip further in chase

Yuvraj Singh (22) struck three boundaries in the 10th over to take India to 47 for three in the first powerplay. However, they looked down and out when Shadab Khan (2-60) accounted for Yuvraj and Kedar Jadhav (9) while Hasan Ali (4) removed the key wicket of MS Dhoni (4). At the end of the 17th over, India were in deep trouble at 72 for six.

Hardik Pandya fires but Pakistan have the final laugh

Just when India looked in deep trouble, Hardik Pandya (76) looked at his aggressive best, especially against the spinners Shadab and Wasim (0-3) and hit six maximums and four boundaries in his 43-ball knock before an indecision in running led to his dismissal. From there on, Junaid Khan (1-20) removed Ravindra Jadeja (15) while Hasan cleaned the final two wickets to secure a 180 run victory. This was also Pakistan's first win in an ICC Champions Trophy tournament.

Hasan claimed the Golden Ball award while Shikhar Dhawan bagged the Golden bat. Zaman was the man of the match in the final for his splendid century.

© Cricket World 2017