< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zampa to make ODI debut, Khawaja returns to XI

Zampa to make ODI debut, Khawaja returns to XI
Usman Khawaja will replace Shaun Marsh for the Wellington ODI.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Australian selectors have picked Usman Khawaja in place of Shaun Marsh while leg-spinner Adam Zampa has been drafted in for the injured James Faulkner for the second One-Day International against New Zealand in Wellington.

Khawaja has been in a terrific run of form in all formats of the game having scored three Test hundreds for Australia and two Twenty20 centuries in the 2015-16 Big Bash League (BBL).

However, Khawaja was not selected in the initial ODI squad to take on New Zealand, but was a late addition, after Aaron Finch injured his hamstring during the second T20 International against India.

Khawaja was also left out of the first ODI of the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy which Australia lost by 159 runs after being bowled out for 148 runs while chasing a target of 308.

It has been more than three years since the 29-year-old played for Australia in the ODI format, having last appeared in the game against West Indies in February 2013.

Zampa on the other hand will make his international debut for Australia after having impressed in the BBL with 12 wickets from 10 games for the Melbourne Stars.

When asked if his form with the bat will make a difference in the Australian team, Khawaja stated that the conditions in New Zealand are different than at home and he will do his best to help his team win the second game.

"Different conditions, different team," he said.

"I’m not a big believer in form to be honest so I just got to go out and keep doing the same things - watching the ball, keeping it simple.

"It’s a new challenge out there so nothing I did previously has any effect on what I hopefully do tomorrow.

"The past is done. I’m feeling really good right now and but that doesn’t always mean I’m going to score runs.

"I’m just going to try and contribute to the team to hopefully get us a win in this second game."

Having conceded a 1-0 lead to New Zealand in the first ODI, Australia will have to win both remaining games if they are to reclaim the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy.

Australia XI for second ODI:

Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith (captain), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, John Hastings, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood

© Cricket World 2016