< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe include Mutumbami, Muzarabani for Pakistan series

Zimbabwe include Mutumbami, Muzarabani for Pakistan series
Richmond Mutumbami (left) makes a comeback to the Zimbabwe team.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Zimbabwe have included Richmond Mutumbami and Taurai Muzarabani in the 16-man squad to face Pakistan at home in the upcoming limited overs series which will be played between 27th September and 5th October.

Pakistan will play two Twenty20 Internationals on 27th and 29th September and three One-Day Internationals on 1st, 3rd and 5th October, with all matches scheduled to be held in Harare.

Wicket-keeper, Mutumbami, has been included in the place of Regis Chakabva, while Muzarabani, who played the only T20I against New Zealand has been included for both the formats.

The right-arm fast bowler, Muzarabani, is uncapped in the ODI format, but has taken 55 wickets from 46 List-A games at an average of 28.72.

Elton Chigumbura will lead the side while Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Malcolm Waller and Sean Williams form the core of the batting line up.

The pace-bowling attack will consist of Tinashe Panyangara, Chris Mpofu and Muzarabani, with Prosper Utseya, John Nyumbu and Graeme Cremer as the spin options.

Convener of Zimbabwe selectors, Kenyon Ziehl said that they have made efforts to give the young players a platform to prove their mettle.

"The dynamic of the squad is made up of a calm and aggressive combination for the Pakistan series.

“It's a squad based on building a performance-related culture and giving a platform to the younger future players to prove their ability.” 

In May 2015, Zimbabwe became the first country in over six years to tour Pakistan, when they played two T20Is and three ODIs in Lahore.

Zimbabwe squad:

Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza, Chamu Chibhabha, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Neville Madziva, Hamilton Masakadza, Chris Mpofu, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Prosper Utseya, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams

© Cricket World 2015