< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe kick-start preparations for India series with training camp

Zimbabwe kick-start preparations for India series with training camp
The camp is slated to begin on 30th May.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Zimbabwe have organised a couple of training camps in Bulawayo and Harare for a total of 33 players in order to begin preparing for the upcoming campaign against India.

India to tour Zimbabwe to play in a limited overs contest consisting of three One-Day Internationals and as many Twenty20 Internationals in June.

A group of the top 23 cricketers, including the likes of Elton Chigumbura, Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Hamilton Masakadza, Sikandar Raza and Tendai Chatara will take part in the camp in Bulawayo.

The Bulawayo camp, which will begin on 30th May, will be overseen by head coach Dav Whatmore, bowling coach Makhaya Ntini and fitness trainer Sean Bell.

The players will participate in a practice session at the Queens Sports Club on Monday, Wednesday and Friday before they are divided into two teams for a round of practice matches.

Two 50-over practice matches will be played on Tuesday and Thursday while a T20 practice match will be held on Saturday.

The remainding 10 players will undergo their training in Harare under the watchful eye of Douglas Hondo, who is the coach of the Zimbabwe A side.

India’s tour of Zimbabwe will begin with the first ODI on 11th June and will come to a close with the third T20I on 22nd June with all the games scheduled to be played at the Harare Sports Club.

Zimbabwe squad for Bulawayo training camp (23 players):

Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Peter Joseph Moor, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tawanda Mupariwa, Tarisai Musakanda, Richmond Mutumbami, Taurai Muzarabani, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Donald Tiripano, Malcolm Waller and Sean Williams.

Zimbabwe squad for Harare training camp (10 players):

Regis Chakabva, Trevor Garwe, Neville Madziva, Wellington Masakadza, Shingirai Masakadza, Prince Masvaure, Natsai M’shangwe, Kudakwashe Munyede, Tinotenda Mutombodzi and Victor Nyauchi.

© Cricket World 2016