Zimbabwe Name ODI Squad

Elton Chigumbura will lead Zimbabwe when they take on South Africa in three ODIs
Elton Chigumbura will lead Zimbabwe when they take on South Africa in three ODIs
©REUTERS / Action Images

Zimbabwe have named a 17-man squad for their three-match One-Day International series against South Africa which begins in Bulawayo on Sunday 17th August.

Nineteen-year-old uncapped all-rounder Luke Jongwe is included in the squad despite only playing eight one-day games in his career to date.

Meanwhile, fellow all-rounder Neville Madziva, 23, has played just 16 one-day games and is also uncapped.

Off-spinner John Nyumbu took five wickets on his Test debut but has yet to be capped at ODI level.

Fast bowler Brian Vitori, who was not named in Zimbabwe's 25-man training squad ahead of the Test match, which South Africa won by nine wickets, returns to the ODI squad.

Elton Chigumbura, re-appointed Zimbabwe's limited overs captain last month, will lead the side as they take on the Proteas on 17th, 19th and 21st August.

Zimbabwe ODI squad: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Luke Jongwe, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingirai Masakadza, Sikandar Raza, Richmond Mutumbami, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams

© Cricket World 2014

Fixtures & Results

9th-13th August: Only Test, Harare

South Africa 397 (du Plessis 98) & 44-1 beat
Zimbabwe 256 & 181 (Piedt 4-62) by nine wickets
17th August: 1st ODI, Bulawayo

South Africa 309-3 (Amla 122no) beat
Zimbabwe 216 (H Masakadza 61) by 93 runs
19th August: 2nd ODI, Bulawayo

South Africa 257 (du Plessis 55) beat
Zimbabwe 196 (Williams 55) by 61 runs
21st August: 3rd ODI, Bulawayo

South Africa 171-3 (de Kock 84) beat
Zimbabwe 165 (Chigumbura 90) by seven wickets