< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh 2020: Preview, Match Schedule, Team Squads and Series Predictions


All you need to know about the Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh 2020 comprising a one-off Test, 3 ODIs and 2 T20Is which will be played from February 22 to March 11.

After missing the first Test against Pakistan, Mushfiqur Rahim is back in the 16-man Bangladesh squad for the one-off Test against Zimbabwe. White-ball skipper Mahmudullah is currently not being considered for red-ball cricket and is told to focus on the shorter format.

Pacer Al-Amin misses out due to a niggle he picked up in Pakistan. Soumya Sarkar has opted out of the one-off Test and first ODI against Zimbabwe for his wedding.

Middle-order batsman Yasir Ali and medium pacer Hasan Mahmud have received maiden call-ups. Mehidy Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman also find a place in the squad along with a surprise pick in pacer Taskin Ahmed.

Zimbabwe captain Sean Williams will miss the one-off Test against Bangladesh due to the birth of his child. Middle-order batsman Craig Ervine has been handed over the captaincy in Williams' absence. Sean Williams is expected to resume captaincy duties for the LOIs.

Kevin Kasuza, the opener, who suffered concussion on a couple of occasions against Sri Lanka, is back in the squad and played a good hand in the two-day warm-up game against Bangladesh Cricket Board XI.

Kyle Jarvis and Tendai Chatara miss out due to a back and a bicep injury respectively.

"We are well prepared. Firstly, it's good to be back in Bangladesh, a place we call our second home," Zimbabwe wicketkeeper-batsman Brendan Taylor said. "We know the conditions, we got two good Test matches that went five days in Sri Lanka. We took lots of positives from that so hopefully we can carry on.

"Obviously Bangladesh have always been very difficult to win against. So we know who we are up against, the challenge but we look forward to it. They always play well at home and that's their comfort zone, where they thrive on and the boys got a good record."

Bangladesh are coming off an innings defeat against Pakistan. Prior to that, they lost a two-match Test series against India without really putting up a fight.

On the other hand, Zimbabwe exceeded expectations in a home series against Sri Lanka. Although they lost the series 0-1 after losing the first Test by 10 wickets, they were in a winning situation in the second game and could have drawn the series had rain not played spoilsport.

The last time Zimbabwe toured Bangladesh, it was in 2018 when the team, after losing the ODI series 3-0, came back strongly to win the first Test. The visitors lost the second rubber to tie the series 1-1.

While there will be not much hope for Zimbabwe in the the white-ball leg, they are certainly in with a chance to win the one-off Test.

Series Predictions

Winner -  Bangladesh

Top Run Scorer -  Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Craig Ervine (Zimbabwe)

Top Wicket Taker - Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)

Most Sixes - Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh), Craig Ervine (Zimbabwe)

Here are the squads of both teams:

Bangladesh Test squad: Mominul Haque (c), Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadat Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Yasir Ali.

Zimbabwe Test squad: Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva (wk), Craig Ervine (c), Kevin Kasuza, Timycen Maruma, Prince Masvaure, Christopher Mpofu, Brian Mudzinganyama, Carl Mumba, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Ainsley Ndlovu, Victor Nyauchi, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Charlton Tshuma

Here's the complete schedule of the series: 

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh 2020

Feb 22 - Feb 26 Bangladesh v Zimbabwe Only Test Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka 3:30 AM

Mar 01 Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, 1st ODI Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram 8:30 AM

Mar 03 Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, 2nd ODI Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram 8:30 AM

Mar 06 Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, 3rd ODI Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram 8:30 AM

Mar 09 Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, 1st T20I Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka 11:00 AM

Mar 11 Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, 2nd T20I Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka 11:00 AM

©Cricket World 2020