< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe v Bangladesh 3rd ODI : Bangladesh complete 3-0 series win over Zimbabwe

Captain Tamim Iqbal's century overshadows Ryan Burl and Regis Chakabvaa’s efforts, as Bangladesh make a clean sweep of ODI series.

Match Summary

Zimbabwe 298/10 (49.3 ov)

Bangladesh 302/5 (48 ov)

Bangladesh won by 5 wickets


Zimbabwe innings:

Bangladesh won the toss and elected to field first. Regis Chakabwa was promoted to the opening position and he played with a lot of conviction. Tadiwanashe Marumani disappointed yet again as he was dismissed for 8 by Shakib Al Hasan. Brendan Taylor and Chakabwa laid a solid foundation for the middle order as they stitched a stand of 42 runs for the 2nd wicket before Taylor fell to Mahmudullah.

Dion Myers at number 4 showed great promise with his stroke selection and powered the Zimbabwe innings with his knock of 34. He too was dismissed by Mahmudullah. Zimbabwe were in a solid position by then at 149 for 3. However, Mustafizur Rahman and Taskin Ahmed accounted for the wickets of Wesley Madhvere and Regis Chakabwa respectively to reduce Zimbabwe to 172 for 5 in the 35th over.

Sikandar Raza came in at number 6 and along with Ryan Burl, he stitched a partnership of 112 runs for the 6th wicket. Sikandar Raza made 57 off 54 balls while Ryan Burl scored 59 off 43 balls, an innings that featured 4 monstrous sixes. On the back of these phenomenal knocks, Zimbabwe reached a respectable total of 298 before being bowled out.

Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Tadiwanashe Marumani, 8.4 ov), 2-78 (Brendan Taylor, 17.4 ov), 3-149 (Dion Myers, 29.2 ov), 4-156 (Wessley Madhevere, 30.5 ov), 5-172 (Regis Chakabva, 34.1 ov), 6-284 (Sikandar Raza, 47.3 ov), 7-294 (Ryan Burl, 48.2 ov), 8-294 (Donald Tiripano, 48.3 ov), 9-296 (Tendai Chatara, 48.6 ov), 10-298 (Blessing Muzarabani, 49.3 ov)

Bangladesh innings:

Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das got Bangladesh off to a flier and added 88 runs for the first wicket before Das was dismissed by Wesley Madhvere in his first over. Tamim Iqbal was looking very strong and determined to take his team home at the other end. Shakib Al Hasan came in at number 3 and started off cautiously before launching Wesley Madhvere for a huge six on the first ball of the 16th over.

Both Iqbal and Shakib were batting beautifully and taking their team closer to the target. Shakib however lost his concentration in the 26th over when Luke Jongwe got him out caught behind at 30. Bangladesh at this point were 147 for 2, still needing 152 runs off 25 overs.

Tamim Iqbal at the other end tried his best not to throw his wicket away and kept compiling runs at ease. He played superbly and scored a ton for the team. However, after drinks, Donald Tripano came out with a magic trick to dismiss Tamim Iqbal at 112. He followed it with the dismissal of Mahmudullah dismissing him for a golden duck and Bangladesh went from 204 for 2 to 204 for 4 in no time. Nurul Hasan was promoted to number 6 and he denied Tripano of a hattrick. At the other end, Mohammad Mithun looked in a determined mood to take his team over the line while playing an achor's role. Nurul Hasan proved to be a great foil to him to take Bangladesh closer to the target. By the end of the 40th over, Bangladesh looked well on course to achieve the target.

Nurul Hasan on particular looked very aggressive right from the start and took pressure off Mohammad Mithun. The golden arm of Wesley Madhvere provided breakthrough with the prized wicket of Mohammad Mithun with Bangladesh still needing 31 off 40 deliveries.

Afif Hossain at number 7 played superbly along with Nurul Hasan to ensure Bangladesh reach the target rather comfortably by the end of the 48th over with 5 wickets in hand. Nurul Hasan remained unbeaten at 45 off 39 balls.

Fall of wickets: 1-88 (Liton Das, 13.5 ov), 2-147 (Shakib Al Hasan, 25.2 ov), 3-204 (Tamim Iqbal, 34.1 ov), 4-204 (Mahmudullah, 34.2 ov), 5-268 (Mohammad Mithun, 43.2 ov)

Playing XIs:

Bangladesh- Tamim Iqbal (c), Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mossadek Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Zimbabwe- Wesley Madhvere, Brendan Taylor (c), Sikandar Raza, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Dion Myers, Regis Chakabwa, Luke Jongwe, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, Ryan Burl, Donald Tripano

Match Details

Start Time: 11:00

Toss: Bangladesh won toss and elected to field first.

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials: Langton Rusere, Marais Erasmus, Iknow Chabi

©Cricket World 2021