< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh: 1st T20I: Soumya Sarkar's All Round Heroics drown Zimbabwe in a low scoring match

Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh
Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh

Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh: 1st T20I: Soumya Sarkar's All Round Heroics drown Zimbabwe in a low scoring match.

Match Summary:

Zimbabwe - 152/10 (19 overs)

Bangladesh - 153/2 (18.5 overs)

Result: Bangladesh won the match by 8 wickets.


Zimbabwe innings:

Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat first. Wesley Madhvere and Tadiwanashe Marumani started off cautiously and took time to settle in. Before Marumani could capitalize on the time he spent on the crease, Mustafizur Rahman ran in with a slow delivery to dismiss the opener for 7.  Regis Chakabwa came in at number 3 and played with flamboyance. He, along with Wesley Madhvere added 64 runs for the 2nd wicket. Madhvere was dismissed at 23 by Shakib Al Hasan.

The real blow to Zimbabwe came in the 11th over when Regis Chakabwa ran himself out in a dramatic fashion. Captain Sikandar Raza was the next one to follow as he was dismissed for a golden duck by Shoriful Islam. Dion Myers held one end strong and kept finding the gaps at ease. However, he couldn't find partners who could play foil to him at the other end of the pitch. Myers fell for 35 in the 15th over and Zimbabwe were reduced to 119 for 6.

Zimbabwe's hero in the 3rd ODI, Ryan Burl failed this time and got dismissed for 4. The lower order could not offer any resistance to Bangladesh's bowling attack and Zimbabwe got bowled out for 152 by the end of the 19th over.

Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Tadiwanashe Marumani, 1.5 ov), 2-74 (Wessley Madhevere, 8.1 ov), 3-91 (Regis Chakabva, 10.1 ov), 4-92 (Sikandar Raza, 10.5 ov), 5-111 (Tarisai Musakanda, 13.2 ov), 6-119 (Dion Myers, 14.1 ov), 7-140 (Luke Jongwe, 17.2 ov), 8-143 (Ryan Burl, 17.5 ov), 9-144 (Richard Ngarava, 18.2 ov), 10-152 (Blessing Muzarabani, 18.6 ov)

Bangladesh Innings:

Soumya Sarkar and Mohammad Naim Sheikh opened the innings for Bangladesh. Naim looked in sublime form and smashed some terrific boundaries early on. Both batters ensured they didn't lose a wicket in the powerplay overs and scored 43 in 6 overs without a loss.

Soumya Sarkar got a move on in the 9th over when he smashed Wellington Masakadza for one of the biggest sixes at Harare Sports Club. Mohammad Naim also got a gift of a free hit in the 10th over and fully capitalized on the opportunity as he put the ball away to the boundary. Bangladesh now looked completely in control of the situation and cruised smoothly towards the target.

Bangladesh really soared post the 11th over. Soumya Sarkar threw his wicket away after scoring his 4th half century in T20I cricket through a run out. Naim carried on and stitched important partnerships with Mahmudullah and later Nurul Hasan to take Bangladesh home with 8 wickets in hand and 7 balls to spare. Naim remained unbeaten at 63 off 51 balls.

Soumya Sarkar was adjudged man of the match for his performance with both bat and ball.

Fall of wickets: 1-102 (Soumya Sarkar, 13.1 ov), 2-123 (Mahmudullah, 16.3 ov)

Playing XIs:

Bangladesh- Mohammad Naim Sheikh, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah (c), Soumya Sarkar, Nurul Hasan, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Zimbabwe- Wesley Madhvere, Sikandar Raza (c) Tadiwanashe Marumani, Dion Myers, Regis Chakabwa, Luke Jongwe, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Ryan Burl, Tarisai Musakanda

Match Details

Start Time: 11:00

Toss: Zimbabwe won toss and elected to bat first.

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials:  Langton Rusere, Christopher Phiri, Iknow Chabi

©Cricket World 2021