< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh, 1st T20I: Zimbabwe beat Bangladesh by 17 runs

Zimbabwe players celebrate
Zimbabwe players celebrate
©Zim Cricket

Zimbabwe beat Bangladesh by 17 runs, in the 1st T20I of the series, at the Harare Sports Ground, today.


Match Summary

Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh, 1st T20I, Bangladesh tour of Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe 205/3 (20 ov)

Bangladesh 188/6 (20 ov)

Result Zimbabwe won by 17 runs



Match Report

 Zimbabwe batted first and posted a total of 205 for 3 in 20 overs. Wesley Madhevere played exceptionally well at the top of the order and scored 67 off 46 balls. Sean Williams also played a nice knock of 33 in 19 balls before being dismissed by Mustafizur Rahman. A real game changing innings was played by Sikandar Raza, who smashed 65 off just 26 balls to take Zimbabwe's total past the 200 run mark to 205 for 3 in 20 overs.

During the chase, Bangladesh got off to a terrible start and lost the first wicket for just 5 runs. Litton Das played a brilliant innings of 32 in 19 balls. He was dismissed through an unfortunate run out. Nazmul Hossain Shanto in the middle order tried to fight hard with a knock of 37 in 25 balls. However, his innings was cut short by the end of the 16th over by Luke Jongwe. Nurul Hasan fought until the end and stayed not out at 42 in 26 balls but failed to take his team home as Bangladesh fell short by 17 runs.

Match Stats

Zimbabwe Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Regis Chakabva - 2.4 ov), 2-43 (Craig Ervine - 6.1 ov), 3-99 (Sean Williams - 12.2 ov)

Bangladesh Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Munim Shahriar - 1.3 ov), 2-63 (Liton Das - 6.6 ov), 3-85 (Anamul Haque Bijoy - 9.5 ov), 4-106 (Afif Hossain - 12.3 ov), 5-146 (Nazmul Hossain Shanto - 15.6 ov), 6-177 (Mosaddek Hossain - 18.6 ov)


Playing XIs


Zimbabwe - Regis Chakabva(wk), Craig Ervine(c), Wesley Madhevere, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava, Tanaka Chivanga

Bangladesh - Litton Das, Anamul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Munim Shahriar, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan(c)(wk), Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam


Match Details

Start Time: 12:00

Toss: Zimbabwe won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials: Iknow Chabi, Langton Rusere, Christopher Phiri, Forster Mutizwa, Andrew Pycroft