< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh: 2nd T20I: Zimbabwe bowlers toil hard to hand the hosts their first victory of the Tour

Zimbabwe players celebrate
Zimbabwe players celebrate
©Zim TV
Zimbabwe's Jongwe and Burl
Zimbabwe's Jongwe and Burl

Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh: 2nd T20I: Zimbabwe bowlers toil hard to hand the hosts their first victory of the Tour.

Match Summary:

Zimbabwe - 166/6 (20 overs)

Bangladesh - 143/10 (19.4 overs)

Result: Zimbabwe won the match by 23 runs


Zimbabwe innings:

Zimbabwe opener Tadiwanashe Marumani disappointed yet again as he perished for 3 to Mahedi Hasan. Wesley Madhvere looked in sublime touch today and smashed the bowlers to all parts of the ground. Regis Chakabwa also played some amazing shots at number 3 before getting out to Shakib Al Hasan. After Chakabwa's dismissal, Dion Myers joined hands with Madhvere and took the innings forward. They stitched a partnership of 57 runs for the 3rd wicket and took Zimbabwe to a comfortable position. Dion Myers was dismissed at 26 while captain Sikandar Raza ran himself out for 4. Madhvere too was dismissed at an important occasion by Shoriful Islam after a well made 73 off 57 balls. Ryan Burl provided the much needed boost in the death overs to propel the total to 166 for 6 in 20 overs. He remained unbeaten at 34 off 19 balls.

Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Tadiwanashe Marumani, 1.5 ov), 2-42 (Regis Chakabva, 5.2 ov), 3-99 (Dion Myers, 13.3 ov), 4-122 (Sikandar Raza, 15.4 ov), 5-139 (Wessley Madhevere, 17.4 ov), 6-166 (Luke Jongwe, 19.6 ov)

Bangladesh Innings:

The strike bowler for Zimbabwe, Blessing Muzarabani struck on his very first ball of the match to get rid off Mohammad Naim Sheikh. Bangladesh were 14 for 1 and needed a special effort to get over the line. Mahedi Hasan was promoted to the number 3 position. Muzarabani made another big impact in his first over by getting the huge wicket of Soumya Sarkar as he handed a straight forward catch to cover. Bangladesh were looking troubled at 17 for 2 by the end of the 3rd over with two new batters at the crease.

Shakib Al Hasan and Mahedi Hasan struck a partnership of 28 runs for the 3rd wicket but it was quite slow paced. Shakib lost his wicket at an important occasion after scoring 12 while Mahmudullah perished for 4, leaving Bangladesh in huge trouble. Mahedi Hasan and Nurul Hasan too failed to put on a show and got dismissed in the 9th and the 12th over respectively, leaving Bangladesh at 68 for 6.

Shamim Hossain ignited some hopes for the Bangladeshi camp with his power packed cameo of 29 in 13 balls but Luke Jongwe accounted for his wicket in the 16th over with Bangladesh still needing 58 off 29 balls. Mohammad Saifuddin announced his arrival at the crease with a six straight down the ground on the second ball he faced. By the end of the 16th over, Bangladesh needed 49 off 24 balls with Afif Hossain and Saifuddin at the crease. Muzarabani was called in to bowl the 17th over and he gave away just 8 runs. Bangladesh now needed 41 off 18 balls.

Tendai Chatara got the prized wicket of Afif Hossain at the start of the 18th over and Bangladesh's last hope was sent back to the pavilion. Taskin Ahmed came in at number 10 and tried to connect almost every delivery for a maximum but failed. At the end of the 19th over, Bangladesh needed 31 off 6 balls and the task seemed almost impossible for the touring team. Luke Jongwe was given the responsibility to bowl the last over and he gave away 5 runs on the first delivery (including a wide ball). However, he kept his nerves in check and picked up Saifuddin's wicket on the second delivery of the over. He followed it up with the wicket of Taskin Ahmed on the 4th ball to bowl Bangladesh out for 143 as Zimbabwe won the match by 23 runs.

Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Mohammad Naim, 2.1 ov), 2-17 (Soumya Sarkar, 2.4 ov), 3-45 (Shakib Al Hasan, 6.4 ov), 4-52 (Mahmudullah, 8.1 ov), 5-53 (Mahedi Hasan, 8.4 ov), 6-68 (Nurul Hasan, 11.2 ov), 7-109 (Shamim Hossain, 15.1 ov), 8-127 (Afif Hossain, 17.1 ov), 9-141 (Mohammad Saifuddin, 19.2 ov), 10-143 (Taskin Ahmed, 19.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Bangladesh- Mohammad Naim Sheikh, Shamim Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah (c), Soumya Sarkar, Nurul Hasan, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed

Zimbabwe- Wesley Madhvere, Sikandar Raza (c) Tadiwanashe Marumani, Dion Myers, Regis Chakabwa, Luke Jongwe, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Milton Shumba, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara

Match Details

Start Time: 11am

Toss: Zimbabwe won toss and elected to bat first.

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials:  Langton Rusere, Forster Mutizwa,  Iknow Chabi

©Cricket World 2021