< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe vs Netherlands, Match 1: Nidamanuru century seals the deal for Netherlands

Teja Nidamanuru in action batting for Netherlands
Teja Nidamanuru in action batting for Netherlands
©Zimbabwe Cricket

A Teja Nidamanuru century, coupled with the bowling of Fred Klaassen, was enough to see Netherlands to a tight victory over Zimbabwe today at the Harare Sports Club.

Match Summary

Zimbabwe vs Netherlands, Match 1

Zimbabwe 249/10 (47.3 ov)

Netherlands 255/7 (49.5 ov)

Result - Netherlands won by 3 wickets


After losing the toss Zimbabwe were put in to bat, proving the right call as they were very quickly 31/3.

Clive Madande (74) lead a fightback as he smashed 6 Fours on his way to a half century, but the Netherlands bowling line-up proved too strong.

Fred Klaassen (3/41) was the pick of the bowlers as he took some crucial wickets, restricting Zimbabwe as they were all out for 249.

In response, Colin Ackermann added a half century before Teja Nidamanuru (110*) hammered 9 fours on his way to a game-winning century.

Netherlands made it just over the line, winning by 3 wickets.

 Match Stats

Zimbabwe Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Craig Ervine - 2.2 ov), 2-18 (Gary Ballance - 3.6 ov), 3-31 (Innocent Kaia - 7.3 ov), 4-48 (Wesley Madhevere - 10.2 ov), 5-70 (Ryan Burl - 12.6 ov), 6-91 (Sikandar Raza - 17.6 ov), 7-98 (Brad Evans - 20.4 ov), 8-168 (Wellington Masakadza - 37.1 ov), 9-234 (Richard Ngarava - 45.4 ov), 10-249 (Clive Madande - 47.3 ov)

Netherland Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Vikramjit Singh - 4.6 ov), 2-19 (Tom Cooper - 6.5 ov), 3-48 (Max O'Dowd - 16.4 ov), 4-49 (Musa Ahmed - 17.3 ov), 5-64 (Scott Edwards - 20.3 ov), 6-110 (Colin Ackermann - 31.1 ov), 7-220 (Shariz Ahmad - 46.5 ov)

Playing XI

Zimbabwe: Innocent Kaia, Craig Ervine(C), Wesley Madhevere, Gary Ballance, Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Wellington Masakadza, Clive Madande(WK), Brad Evans, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani

Netherland: Vikramjit Singh, Max O'Dowd, Tom Cooper, Musa Ahmed, Colin Ackermann, Scott Edwards(WK/C), Teja Nidamanuru, Shariz Ahmad, Paul van Meekeren, Fred Klaassen, Brandon Glover

Match Details

Date: Tuesday, March 21, 2023 07:15

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

TossNetherlands elected to bowl

Officials Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) Iknow Chabi (Zimbabwe) Langton Rusere (Zimbabwe TV)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

© Cricket World 2023