< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe vs Netherlands, Match 2: Zimbabwe level series in close fought contest

It doesn't get much closer than that as Netherlands, needing four runs from the final ball, were bowled all out as Zimbabwe escape with a 1 run win today at the Harare Sports Club.

Match Summary

Zimbabwe vs Netherlands, Match 2

Zimbabwe 271/10 (49.2 ov)

Netherlands 270/10 (50 ov)

Result - Zimbabwe won by 1 runs.


After electing to bat Zimbabwe got off to a strong start, openers Craig Ervine (39) and Wesley Madhevere (43) kicking things off.

Sean Williams top scored with 77, hammering 11 fours on the way, as Zimbabwe regained some footing after a few wickets.

As wickets tumbled around him, a half century from Clive Madande (52) got Zimbabwe to a respectable score.

Shariz Ahmad (5/43) lead the fight back with his 5fer, taking some big wickets and eventually leading Zimbabwe to be all out for 271.

In response, Netherlands flew off the mark with openers Max O'Dowd (81) and Tom Cooper (74) smashing a half century a piece.

Wesley Madhevere (3/36) managed to plug the holes and get Zimbabwe back into this one, pushing it to the wire.

It couldn't have been much closer, coming down to the final ball with a single wicket to spare needing four runs, falling short as Zimbabwe won by 1 run.

Match Stats

Zimbabwe Fall of wickets: 1-61 (Craig Ervine - 10.6 ov), 2-80 (Gary Ballance - 15.4 ov), 3-110 (Wesley Madhevere - 22.2 ov), 4-110 (Sikandar Raza - 22.4 ov), 5-120 (Ryan Burl - 24.5 ov), 6-224 (Sean Williams - 40.2 ov), 7-224 (Brad Evans - 40.4 ov), 8-245 (Wellington Masakadza - 44.6 ov), 9-247 (Clive Madande - 45.2 ov), 10-271 (Tendai Chatara - 49.2 ov)

Netherlands Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Vikramjit Singh - 7.4 ov), 2-166 (Tom Cooper - 32.6 ov), 3-197 (Max O'Dowd - 40.3 ov), 4-213 (Colin Ackermann - 43.1 ov), 5-213 (Teja Nidamanuru - 43.2 ov), 6-213 (Paul van Meekeren - 43.3 ov), 7-234 (Shariz Ahmad - 46.3 ov), 8-252 (Scott Edwards - 48.3 ov), 9-253 (Musa Ahmed - 48.6 ov), 10-270 (Ryan Klein - 49.6 ov)

Playing XI

Zimbabwe: Craig Ervine, Wesley Madhevere, Gary Ballance, Sean Williams(C), Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Clive Madande(WK), Wellington Masakadza, Brad Evans, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani

Netherlands: Vikramjit Singh, Max O'Dowd, Tom Cooper,Musa Ahmed, Colin Ackermann, Scott Edwards(WK/C), Teja Nidamanuru, Shariz Ahmad, Paul van Meekeren, Fred Klaassen, Ryan Klein

Match Details

Date: Thursday, March 23, 2023 07:15

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Toss: Zimbabwe elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan) Forster Mutizwa (Zimbabwe) Iknow Chabi (Zimbabwe TV)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

© Cricket World 2023