< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Zimbabwe vs Pakistan, 3rd T20I: Pakistan beat Zimbabwe by 24 runs to take series 2-1

Pakistan wrapped up the T20I Series against Zimbabwe 2-1, by winning by the margin of 24 runs in the 3rd T20I at the Harare Sports Club, Harare today.


Match Summary

Zimbabwe 141/7 (20 ov)

Pakistan 165/3 (20 ov)

Result - Pakistan won by 24 runs




Match Report – Salim Parvez - Pakistan seal a series win at Harare


There was all to play for in the final T20I between Zimbabwe and Pakistan at Harare and the tourists came up with triumphs, without being at their best. They owed their 24-run  victory to two star performers – Mohammad Rizwan, who hit an unbeaten 89 and even more crucially Hasan Ali, who produced a gem of a spell of 4-18, when the game was poised for a close finish.

Pakistan chose to bat first with three changes in their line-up. One of those, Sharjeel Khan, didn’t miss much that was offered to him. After three boundaries to his credit, his dismissal was soft for a low full toss was spooned to straight to mid-off. In the powerplay, Pakistan were 43-1 after six overs and that score progressed to 64-1 with both Rizwan and Babar Azam – two of the best Pakistan batsmen at the crease.

Over number seven witnessed a run-three, ever so rare in t20 cricket. The reason being the boundaries had been spread a bit which certainly made it more watchable. Over number 13 included two personal milestones – Babar whilst hitting two finely struck boundaries brought up his 2000 T20I runs in new-high of just 52 innings. He is the 11th player to reach the milestone and third Pakistani, behind Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik. On the other end, Rizwan was first to his 50 off 39 balls on a wicket that was on a sluggish side and requiring more manuvering and running than is normal practice in this format.

The pair was still together after 15 overs with the score having reached 109-1, requiring at least another fifty runs to be comfortable. The first six of the innings was hit by Rizwan when he despatched waist-height full-toss from Luke Jongve over square leg. He chose the same spot for two more sixes as Zimbabwe bowlers erred in their line. The 100-run stand between the two came off 77 balls and Babar’s fifty needed 44 balls and he had been unable to score of 12. The penultimate over was worth 18 for Pakistan and they finished with 165-3. Rizwan batted through the innings with 89 off 60 balls and ran very well for his ones and twos.

Zimbabwe made a perfect start to their innings and through Wesley Madhevere not letting Pakistan pacemen to settle down. The fifty was up in 6.2 overs and the pressure was all on the fielding side. There was a feeling slow bowlers were the key as Zimbabwe were happily placed at 78-1 after 10 overs. Madhevere faced 37 balls for his 50 and was taking charge and Pakistan were now in desperate search of wickets to drag this match back. The balance of power was shifting quickly and the scenario was in favour of batting side.

The target was down to 58 off 5 overs when Madhevere top edged a  big heave off a well-disguised slower ball from Hasan Ali, and was caught brilliantly by wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed, running back. This was the break Pakistan were looking for as Madhevere’s 59 off 47 balls with 7 fours. Hasan took another two wickets and his four-over spell proved decisive. Zimbabwe only managed to score 19 runs in the four overs, leaving them with 46 off the last 18 balls.


Match Stats

Pakistan Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Sharjeel Khan - 4.6 ov), 2-159 (Babar Azam - 19.3 ov), 3-159 (Fakhar Zaman - 19.4 ov)


Zimbabwe Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Tarisai Musakanda - 4.6 ov), 2-102 (Tadiwanashe Marumani - 13.3 ov), 3-109 (Wesley Madhevere - 15.2 ov), 4-110 (Regis Chakabva - 15.5 ov), 5-133 (Sean Williams - 18.2 ov), 6-139 (Luke Jongwe - 19.2 ov), 7-141 (Brendan Taylor - 19.5 ov)


Playing XIs

Zimbabwe - Wesley Madhevere, Tarisai Musakanda, Sean Williams(c), Tadiwanashe Marumani, Brendan Taylor, Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva(wk), Luke Jongwe, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava

Pakistan - Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam(c), Sharjeel Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed(wk), Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain


Match Details

Start Time: 10:00

Toss: Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials: Iknow Chabi, Langton Rusere, Christopher Phiri, Forster Mutizwa, Andrew Pycroft


©Cricket World 2021